Laksa

I try to eat at least a couple servings of vegetables every day, and usually I have no problem doing that.  Saturday, however, I realized as I got into bed that the mushrooms in this soup were the only vegetable I had all day.  Oops.

I guess that’s what happens when your first meal of the day is French toast at 11 am, after a leisurely run.

…and then you decide to make chocolate chip cookies with toasted coconut in the middle of the afternoon.

We had laksa for dinner, which I hadn’t had in years.  It’s a delicious Malaysian curry and coconut milk soup that’s incredibly flavorful (and rich! If you use full-fat coconut milk, which you really should).  I adapted three different recipes and made the curry paste from scratch (not as time-consuming as it sounds).  It may not be vegetable-packed, but it is pretty tasty.

I kicked off Sunday with a 10 mile run and came home to find Mike and Ellie watching the England-Italy match.  Technically Ellie wasn’t really watching…

We were both really disappointed England lost.

I wrapped up the week with 46 miles of running (the streak lives on!) and we had a LOT of  vegetables for dinner (quinoa bowls with dragon sauce!).

Another great weekend in the books.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:87]

7 Responses to “Laksa”


  1. 1 Ketty June 25, 2012 at 5:39 am

    I am from that region and LOVE laksa 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing the recipe.

  2. 2 Danielle June 25, 2012 at 6:17 am

    I made laska once and absolutely loved it – I’m definitely going to give this recipe a try! Oh, and excellent running!

  3. 3 Kelsey June 25, 2012 at 11:07 am

    Cate, you amaze me. 46 miles! WOW! I can’t promise to run 46 miles this week (or this summer) but I can certainly say I’ll be trying this soup once the weather cools off. It looks so fantastic!

  4. 4 Beth June 25, 2012 at 11:38 am

    great job on the streak! Chocolate chip and toasted coconut cookies sound delicious, and the soup looks great as well. Where do you get your vegetarian fish sauce? I’ve had trouble finding any.

  5. 6 Kate June 25, 2012 at 7:12 pm

    I should make french toast again. This is the second time I’ve seen it today. Both times it’s been topped with gorgeous strawberries.

  6. 7 Cathryn @ myheartscontent June 26, 2012 at 11:09 am

    Thanks for supporting England – we were gutted when we were knocked out. Husband most upset. I don’t think I’ve ever seen us win at penalties. Never mind – obviously we’ll sweep the board at the Olympics 🙂


Leave a comment





Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter