Sweet Potato and Kidney Bean Salad

Mike and I tend to get really into TV shows after they’ve been on for a couple years.  Right now we are OBSESSED with parenthood and are working our way through the first season on Netflix.

I feel ridiculously behind the times that I’m just now watching this, but it’s so good I don’t care.  I love that it’s set in Berkeley (although clearly not filmed there), but it also already has me nervous about Ellie’s teenage years.

Speaking of Ellie, she’s officially crawling now.  Help me.

What I really want to call this is African Peanut Stew Salad.  I wanted the flavor of that, but the lightness of a salad, so I roasted some sweet potatoes and tossed them with fresh spinach and kidney beans.  For the dressing, I made a super simple tomato sauce (just butter, onion, and tomatoes), but added some peanut butter and curry powder.  When you pour the warm sauce over the salad, you get the spinach to wilt just the right amount.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:86]

4 Responses to “Sweet Potato and Kidney Bean Salad”


  1. 1 natalie@thesweetslife June 21, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    i share your parenthood obsession—excited i’m all caught up and dying for the new season!! enjoy 🙂

  2. 2 Kate June 22, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    Ellie and my guy are on the same track. He started crawling on Wednesday!

  3. 3 Billie June 22, 2012 at 2:52 pm

    Parenthood = total love. Such a good show. I hope it got renewed for next year! And this salad looks yummy!

  4. 4 Renee July 1, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    Ooh, catch up on Parenthood so we can talk about it at the next gathering! I love analyzing these shows to death.


Leave a Reply

Twitter

  • Lovett or Leave It: my new favorite podcast. Waiting til the weekend is even harder now 6 days ago
  • I've apparently become a person who spends her weekend doing yard work 😬 1 week ago
  • Apparently when you buy a house your parents decide it's finally time to give you all your papers from high school 1 week ago

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

