Cranberry-Almond Granola

I’ve been trying to eat healthier breakfasts lately, which explains why we’ve been going through about a whole lot more spinach than we normally do. I blend it into smoothies, which totally grosses Mike out, but you honestly can’t taste it! Because he likes his breakfasts a little more solid and a little less green, I decided I should make some granola.

I know granola can seem healthy but be full of sugar and fat. When I worked at the bakery, we made ours with a ton of butter and brown sugar…which isn’t exactly what I was going for here. I found a great recipe on a clean eating website, which called for shredded apples and a little honey in place of melted butter and and refined sugar. I added almonds and cranberries (which I guess aren’t really “clean eating” because they’re sweetened, but I think I’ll live), and the result was a crunchy, hearty mix of oats and wheat germ with just a hint of sweetness. I can’t wait to try a whole bunch of different variations in the future!

Recipe:
(adapted from Clean Eating Club)

Nonstick cooking spray
3 cups rolled oats
1 cup coarsely shredded unpeeled apple (this was 1 1/2 apples for me)
1/2 cup toasted wheat germ
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup honey
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2 cup sliced almonds
1/2 cup dried cranberries

Spray a baking sheet with nonstick spray and preheat the oven to 350 F.

Mix the apple, oats, and wheat germ in a medium bowl and set aside.

Bring the honey, water, and cinnamon to a boil in a small saucepan. Remove from heat and stir in the vanilla, then pour over the oat mixture and toss well. Stir in the almonds, spread on the baking sheet, and bake for about 35 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Once the granola is golden brown, remove from the oven and stir in the cranberries. Let cool completely, then store in an airtight container.

6 Responses to “Cranberry-Almond Granola”


  1. 1 roxan April 21, 2010 at 7:34 am

    Thanks for sharing this recipe. I think it’ll be a great make-ahead breakfast (and snack!!) to take with me on snowboarding trips.

  2. 2 Jennifer April 21, 2010 at 8:25 am

    Cate – your granola looks great! Homemade granola is much more wallet friendly than purchasing the expensive organic stuff.

    I have also been enjoying more green smoothies lately and can’t get my husband on board with them. He’s tasted them several times and admits that you can’t taste the spinach but I guess it’s a mental thing.

  3. 3 Mo April 21, 2010 at 9:13 am

    This looks wonderful! I use honey as the sweetener in my granola, too. I also like adding a little bit of molasses to give it that brown-sugar taste. 🙂

  4. 4 Cherine April 21, 2010 at 11:39 pm

    This is perfect for a breakfast meal. Your granola looks wonderful!!

  5. 5 Veggie Belly April 23, 2010 at 9:10 am

    oh my! so yummy! ever since i first made granola at home, ive stopped buying the store bought stuff. its so easy to make your own and customize it how you like. love the addition of apple here, i will tryt hat next time.

  6. 6 Colleen April 26, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    This looks delicious – I love cranberries and almonds together!


Leave a comment





Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter