20 miles, the best way possible

I used to dread 20 mile runs.  Once I got going, they were fine, but I got so nervous the night before, afraid I wouldn’t be able to finish.  Or that I’d have to walk, or I’d run out of water, or get lost, or get bored by myself…

6hourrun

Now after having trained for multiple marathons, 20 miles aren’t really as intimidating as they used to be.  And last weekend’s 20 was the best ever!

Running 19 1.1 mile loops may sound horrible, but it was awesome.

bridge

This scenery will never get old.

Alyssa and I tested out our new matching Hokas…

hokatwins

Ellie cheered for us the whole time (with a cowbell, of course)…

ellie

and I got to see my friends every lap!

grouppic

It was a great morning, and now with just 9 days until the San Francisco Marathon, I’m feeling totally fired up and ready to go!

(huge thanks to Naomi for all the photos!)

3 Responses to “20 miles, the best way possible”


  1. 1 Mr. & Mrs. P June 7, 2013 at 8:23 am

    We ran a half and it was tough.. Dont know if we will ever get the courage to run a full….

  2. 2 Alyssa June 7, 2013 at 9:56 am

    And you left out the part where you nailed that 20 miler… and so did your dad!! These really are the best runs. ❤

  3. 3 Kate June 8, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    It almost makes me feel better to hear that 20 miles aren’t no big deal for you!


Leave a Reply

Twitter

  • Portland shamrock run miles 1-4: this sucks. Worst race ever. Miles 5-9.3: I'm flyyyyiiiiingg and everything is amazing and I love running!! 3 days ago
  • It's happening https://t.co/XWxA53Wqr9 4 days ago
  • my students have a Snapchat group called "science is litter than lit," just in case you were wondering what the youths are up to these days 6 days ago

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

