Rice and Vegetable Bowls with Vegan Curry Sauce

IMG_7407

I used to make meal plans every single week.  Now, it’s been months since I made one and I honestly don’t think our spending on groceries has really changed at all.  Instead, I think the “just wing it” approach has actually helped minimize food waste because I’ve gotten a lot better at throwing together odds and ends than trying to make everything fit with a recipe that I planned in advance.

One of the biggest things that has helped with being able to put together last minute meals like this one is keeping the pantry well-stocked.  We take our big (quart and half gallon) mason jars to the store, get them tared, and fill them with things like brown rice, almonds, walnuts, cashews, black beans, a few different kinds of lentils, and various whole grains (currently working through amaranth, farro, and buckwheat groats).

A well-stocked pantry combined with our weekly CSA delivery and occasional trips to the farmers market give us plenty of options for our favorite types of food: huge salads, soups full of vegetables, and big bowls of grains with vegetables and sauce.  I’m always trying to figure out new sauces to make, and I know cashews make an awesome vegan stand-in for cream when you add liquid and blend them in a Vitamix.  This sauce just takes a couple of minutes to make, and it goes perfectly over stir-fried vegetables and brown rice (or other grains).

IMG_7411

 

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:135]

2 Responses to “Rice and Vegetable Bowls with Vegan Curry Sauce”


  1. 1 Mr. & Mrs. P June 5, 2013 at 9:01 am

    Who wouldnt love this??? Beautiful!

  2. 2 Kate June 5, 2013 at 8:30 pm

    I admire your lack of menu planning. It takes me too long to figure out what to make without it!


Leave a Reply

Twitter

  • Portland shamrock run miles 1-4: this sucks. Worst race ever. Miles 5-9.3: I'm flyyyyiiiiingg and everything is amazing and I love running!! 3 days ago
  • It's happening https://t.co/XWxA53Wqr9 4 days ago
  • my students have a Snapchat group called "science is litter than lit," just in case you were wondering what the youths are up to these days 6 days ago

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

