Zucchini Ribbon Salad with Rice and Beans

IMG_7356

Recovery from Wildflower is going really well.  I ended up taking 3 complete rest days, and then somehow found myself committing to a marathon that’s 5 weeks away.

photo

My sister’s last race marathon was in San Francisco two years ago, and she wants to get revenge on the course (it was a rough day).  “Hmmm maybe” turned into “registration confirmed” within 24 hours, and the best part is that my dad is doing it too!

I’m planning on running 16 or 17 miles this Saturday, I have a trail half marathon next weekend, and I’ll do a 20-miler the week after that.  It will definitely not be my best marathon, but I think it will be fun (which is kinda weird, since just a few weeks ago I was fairly certain it would be years before I signed up for another one).

We started getting a CSA box last week, and our first two deliveries have been awesome.  There was some zucchini this week, and although I usually hate it raw, it’s fine if it’s shaved into ribbons.  I usually keep some kind of cooked grain in the fridge, and this week it was brown rice, so I just tossed that with some black beans, green onion, cilantro, lemon juice, and sunflower seeds for a quick, healthy dinner.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:133]

 

 

4 Responses to “Zucchini Ribbon Salad with Rice and Beans”


  1. 1 Cathryn May 10, 2013 at 9:22 am

    This is seriously perfect…we’re on holiday in Hawaii with two nights to go, needing to use up the ingredients in our fridge and they are honestly 90% of the recipe list above. Some seeds and cilantro and I’m done. That’s dinner tonight, thank you!

    And yippeeee about SF, it’s going to be so much fun.

  2. 2 Alyssa May 10, 2013 at 9:27 am

    WEEEEEEEEE sfm! sfm! sfm!!!

  3. 3 Kate May 10, 2013 at 7:54 pm

    Rice and beans are such a staple – I like the addition of zucchini for variety.

  4. 4 Angela May 13, 2013 at 8:24 am

    Heh…You are the second person I’ve heard from this morning who committed to an SFM race within the last week. Awesome. 🙂


Leave a Reply

