Chocolate Cream Pie

pie1

Welcome to Taper Town. Have some pie.

Somehow there are now fewer than two weeks between me and Wildflower.  As of right now, I feel confident in my training and ready to embrace taper.  I’m sure that within a week, however, I will begin completely freaking out.

On Saturday I decided to go for a ride up Mt. Diablo, which involves climbing about 3800 feet. I’ve never done this ride before, but I loved it.  I rode up the North Side, and it was amazingly beautiful. I used to think there was nothing better than the Douglas Fir forests of the Pacific Northwest, but California’s oak-covered hills might be starting to edge them out.

diablo

Obviously had to take the awkward selfie at the top, and a picture of the gate, and a picture of the view.  In between the picture on the left and the pictures on the right were about an hour and a half of alternating between gawking over the scenery and cursing the wind.  But I made it to the top and it was glorious.  That picture on the lower right is 17 miles from my front door.

Coming down was really unpleasant.  I’m still kind of terrified of going more than 25 miles an hour, so I basically rode the brakes as dozens of cyclists flew by.  I went down the South side (definitely the more popular option for riding up), and followed up the ride with a 7 mile run.

Someday I will learn to drink enough fluids after a hard ride + run in 80+ degree heat.  My headache on Saturday afternoon was reeeeal nice.  I also hope to some day learn how to make pretty slices of pie.

pie2

What this pie lacks in beauty, it makes up for in flavor.  Chocolate cream filling, chocolate crust, and lightly sweetened whipped cream.  Dorie Greenspan knows what she’s doing.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:130]

from Baking: From My Home to Yours

4 Responses to “Chocolate Cream Pie”


  1. 1 Kate April 23, 2013 at 7:05 am

    I am terrified of downhill. It’s why I’m not a big biker. I’m impressed I can go down hills in my car!

  2. 2 Naomi April 23, 2013 at 12:39 pm

    I can see why you love riding up Diablo – what stunning views! And I’m excited for your race!

  3. 3 Cathryn April 23, 2013 at 3:41 pm

    I can’t believe Wildflower is so soon!!

    We’ve wanted to cycle up Diablo for ages…it looks amazing. We did Mt Hamilton last summer and nearly died (in a good way). Diablo this summer, maybe!!! And I am also terrified of cycling downhill. We cycled across the Alps a few years ago and I got a little better, but I’m Queen of the Brakes too!!


  1. 1 Good Reads - Crazy Running Legs Trackback on April 27, 2013 at 10:21 am

Leave a Reply

