Crumb Cake

IMG_6871

I have been slacking SO much in the running department.  If it weren’t for early morning runs with Aron, I’d probably only run once a week.  I think I’ve just gotten so into cycling and swimming that running has lost some of its appeal.

With a trail half marathon coming up NEXT WEEKEND, I figured I should probably try and do at least one double digit run to get myself ready.  Alyssa mapped a route, I made crumb cake for afterwards, and Mike agreed to hang with Ellie at the beach while we ran through Golden Gate Park and the Presidio.  It was perfect. (FYI, running quickly regains appeal when there are good friends, food, and coffee involved).

coffee

Overall this week of training was pretty perfect.  I jumped into a 12 week plan which seems totally manageable.  There will be a little bit of re-arranging workouts, but I think this is going to help me be strong and ready to go on race day (less than 11 weeks away!)

I’ve now been using Training Peaks for a couple of months and I LOVE it. It’s super straightforward and you can see everything in list form, on a spreadsheet, or as a pie chart, and entering data is really simple.  Nobody is paying me to say any of this, but I’m going to make myself an unofficial Training Peaks ambassador.

pie

Week one: 9 hours and 50 minutes of fun!

I FINALLY did my first brick! (Well, first since 2008).  I ended up doing 2 hours on my trainer so I could finish really early in the morning, and then I headed outside to run for 15 minutes.  I was shocked how good my legs felt.  I am also quite ready for today’s rest day.

This cake is just a nice simple breakfast treat, easy to make with things most people keep on hand all the time.  I halved the recipe and put it in an 8″ square pan, but the recipe as written will make a 13 x 9 pan and feed a decent crowd.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:125]

Recipe from Martha Stewart via Baked Bree

 

6 Responses to “Crumb Cake”


  1. 1 alyssa February 18, 2013 at 8:54 am

    Perfect morning treat (post-run or not)! Thank you for running with me!

  2. 2 Cathryn February 18, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    Are you running Lake Chabot? See you there,if so! Cake looks amazing!

  3. 4 Cathryn February 18, 2013 at 1:12 pm

    Me to! Make sure it’s before the race – you’re likely to be home, showered and fed before I shuffle across the finish line!!! Not feeling the most prepared but looking forward to it anyway.

  4. 5 Kate February 18, 2013 at 7:31 pm

    I should definitely try to rope some friends in for long runs – I’ve started ditching the dog because he’s not as good a running partner as he once was.

  5. 6 Marya February 27, 2013 at 6:15 pm

    I love all your posts, Cate and find them very inspiring. And so I feel a bit superficial having this be my question to ask: where did you get those mugs? I love them. xoxo


Leave a Reply

