Wheat-Free Vegan Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

IMG_6862

Saturday was supposed to be a fun ride with two friends, followed by my first brick of this training cycle, followed by a fun day with Mike and Ellie.  Instead, I got sick.  It could have been MUCH worse, but the achiness, upset stomach, and horrible headache kept me in bed most of the day.  So much for my big training weekend.

Fortunately I rebounded a little bit yesterday, at least enough to go to the farmers market and do some yoga.  I forgot how satisfying yoga can be…maybe I should make an effort to do it more than once a month.

I am still nursing myself back to health with the help of this tea, so kindly sent to me by Traditional Medicinals.  I drank a TON of their Mother’s Milk tea while I was breastfeeding, and then completely fell off the tea bandwagon for a few months.  Now that I’m not drinking coffee for the month of February, I really appreciate tea!

IMG_6744

Since it seems like pretty much everyone I know is or has been sick the past couple weeks, you could probably use some of this tea yourself. (The FDA reminds you this product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease).  Just leave a comment, and I’ll pick a random winner on Wednesday at 8 PM PST). Congratulations, Kate, you won!

You know what’s almost as comforting as tea?  COOKIES. These use almond meal instead of refined flour, and coconut butter instead of real butter, and I think they’re pretty fantastic (and so does Ellie, because she’s allowed to sample some of the dough with no risk of salmonella).

cookies2

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:124]

(adapted from The Sprouted Kitchen)

31 Responses to “Wheat-Free Vegan Oatmeal Raisin Cookies”


  1. 1 Courtney @ The Granola Chronicles February 11, 2013 at 7:33 am

    Ooooh, these cookies look fabulous! I’m not the biggest fan of raisins in baked goods, so I’d probably add chocolate chips instead. 🙂

    I’ve been on a huge tea kick lately and am loving it!

  2. 2 Jillian February 11, 2013 at 7:41 am

    Lately I’ve been drinking tea like crazy, this would be a great win!

  3. 3 Kari M February 11, 2013 at 8:02 am

    Glad you’re feeling better. I’ll have to check out the Mother’s Milk tea.

  4. 4 Kristen February 11, 2013 at 8:14 am

    Those cookies look amazing! I am an avid tea drinker. I always go for tea instead of coffee!

  5. 5 Ray February 11, 2013 at 8:14 am

    Oatmeal cookies are my favorite – thanks for sharing this healthy recipe!

  6. 6 Mila @ Simple Harmonic Motion February 11, 2013 at 8:16 am

    Infection-free cookie dough is the best! Nemo hit us this weekend, killing the power line, so we had a sleepover at a friend’s – I brought three types of tea and regret none x)

  7. 7 Bliss February 11, 2013 at 8:26 am

    That tea looks amazing (I am saying this with a tissues at hand for my sniffly nose). I drink a lot of tea all of the time, but even more now that I’m under the weather. I’ve never tried that brand but it sounds great! Thanks for the give-away

  8. 8 Sara P. February 11, 2013 at 10:12 am

    The cookies, and the tea, both look delicious!!

  9. 9 Sarah L February 11, 2013 at 10:35 am

    Those cookies look great! I’m a big fan of tea, especially on a cold winter day.

  10. 10 Ali February 11, 2013 at 11:27 am

    Yummy! I love almond meal in baking.

  11. 11 Elena Vo February 11, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    What a delicious recipe, I could almost smell the cookies here 😀

  12. 12 Lucy R February 11, 2013 at 2:09 pm

    I am expecting right now and obviously not drinking booze, so I’ve turned to tea for a post-dinner drink. It’ll do for the 9 months!

  13. 13 Kira February 11, 2013 at 4:13 pm

    When I sang in college, I used the Traditional Medicinals tea all the time, especially the sore throat soothing one and the Gypsy Cold Care. So good!

  14. 14 Kelly G. February 11, 2013 at 5:48 pm

    I used to chug their PMS blend back in the day!

  15. 15 Renata February 11, 2013 at 6:07 pm

    I’m just getting over a cold too so this would be helpful! Thank you!

  16. 16 Cathryn February 11, 2013 at 6:23 pm

    I thought you were giving away the Mothers Milk tea for a minute…that could be disturbing, these days!!!

  17. 17 Tasha February 11, 2013 at 7:19 pm

    I’m big on tea lately and I’ve been drinking their Raspberry Leaf variety a lot lately. I’ve loved the Mothers milk in the past too. Never tried the Gypsy Cold Care, but I could use that one right now.

  18. 18 Jordan D February 11, 2013 at 8:20 pm

    Those cookies look so delicious! And I could definitely use this tea, I’ve been battling a nasty cold for the last two weeks 😦

  19. 19 Kate February 11, 2013 at 9:13 pm

    I go through crazy tea phases – especially when I’m sick.

  20. 20 Georgiana February 12, 2013 at 5:16 am

    Love tea and drink it daily! Could definitely benefit from this immunity tea for this winter! Thank you!

  21. 21 manda February 12, 2013 at 5:24 am

    Great recipe and giveaway!

  22. 22 barbara n February 12, 2013 at 6:09 am

    Although I am a morning coffee drinker…I love to sip tea at night – and I too can’t resist having a cookie or two with it!

  23. 23 Allie February 12, 2013 at 6:13 am

    Those cookies look good! Lately I have been drinking green tea in the afternoons.

  24. 24 Page February 12, 2013 at 6:59 am

    Hope you’re feeling better and I hope this constitutes my entry for the giveaway! Mmmmm…tea!

  25. 25 Audrey February 12, 2013 at 7:02 am

    I would love to win!

  26. 26 Jessie C. February 12, 2013 at 9:25 am

    Love tea and cookies combo!

  27. 27 Jan R February 12, 2013 at 11:13 am

    I drink a lot of tea and never(knock on wood) get sick!

  28. 28 Linnea February 12, 2013 at 10:59 pm

    I hope you’re feeling better, Cate! I’d love to be entered into the giveaway. Lately I’ve really been loving Yogi Tea’s raspberry leaf tea. It’s supposed to be good for “lady cycles”. In the mornings I’ve been drinking their ginger green tea. I love how tea makes me feel… no jitteriness! Hope you’re having a great week!

  29. 29 Chris February 13, 2013 at 10:16 am

    i’m a tea person and like my 1 in 28 odds as of now

  30. 30 Maria February 13, 2013 at 12:18 pm

    Every year I try to do my body good by going vegetarian during Lent. But I have to admit, going vegetarian for me means going to Taco Bell for a bean and cheese burrito. I copied your recipe for the vegetable quinoa bowl with dragon sauce and just had it for lunch. O M G!!! THIS IS SOOOO GOOD! This year is going to be easy if all your recipes are this good. Seriously, the dragon sauce is out of this world!

  31. 31 Holly Hook February 17, 2013 at 5:44 pm

    These cookies sound absolutely delicious!


Leave a Reply

