Kale, Pinto and Mushroom Tacos with Guajillo Salsa

IMG_6740

This three day weekend was awesome.  Except for the test I took on Saturday morning, the whole weekend was fun: coffee, walks around town, a great swim, and the ZOO!  We finally took Ellie to the Oakland zoo and she loved it.  Especially the petting area.

IMG_6691

The squirrel monkeys were also a big hit.  We liked it so much we became members, and I have a feeling we’ll be spending a LOT of time there over the next year.

Afterwards, since we were in Oakland anyway, we went to Subrosa.  Not quite as good as the coffee in SF, but close!  Ellie and Mike had a heart to heart over lattes (or water, in Ellie’s case) in the parklet.

IMG_6728

 

Going back to work on Tuesday was surprisingly not painful. I’ve gotten way better about leaving work at work, and planning farther in advance (three years of teaching and I think I might FINALLY be starting to figure some of this stuff out) so after not thinking about school for three days it was fun to get back to the kids.

Not sure how to segue from that to tacos, so here we go: These are sort of similar to some other kale and guajillo tacos I made, but I think these are a lot better.   They’re more filling, and they’re really cheap to make, especially if you have dried beans lying around.  I used collards instead of tortillas just because they needed to be used up, and NO I will never go paleo or low carb or any of that, swearsies.  I ate PLENTY of carbs for dessert right afterwards anyway.

I think the best thing about these is the beans.  They’re braised in broth with sauteed onions, so they’re full of flavor. Canned beans just wouldn’t be the same.  It takes some planning ahead, but it’s definitely worth it.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:122]

(salsa adapted from Hungry Cravings)

4 Responses to “Kale, Pinto and Mushroom Tacos with Guajillo Salsa”


  1. 1 Page January 24, 2013 at 6:49 am

    Shut the front door! I think I may actually have all the ingredients except the pepper! Maybe I should channel my inner Cate and try these because they look fun!

    P.S. Ellie is adorable as ever and Lola says hi!

  2. 2 Kate January 24, 2013 at 8:43 pm

    So glad Ellie loved the zoo! Next stop – aquarium!

  3. 3 RoadBunner January 28, 2013 at 6:05 pm

    Starred this recipe to try later 🙂

  4. 4 The Omnivore February 13, 2013 at 2:57 pm

    Those tacos look fantastic! I actually really like the idea of using collard greens instead of corn tortillas; will have to remember that.


Leave a Reply

