Espresso Macarons with Vanilla Bean filling

IMG_6599

On Saturday morning, I went to a local tri club’s group bike ride.  I was really intimidated and almost decided not to go.  I showed up and felt like a total joke on my little 10 year old aluminum frame road bike with rusty screws and a squeaky chain (I have to grease it regularly? who knew?)

The first ten miles were quite enjoyable, but that was just the warm up.  Then the real ride began, and I was promptly dropped.  Fortunately two older guys had planned to do a shorter, easier ride, so I stuck with them.  We ended up doing 52 miles, averaging almost 16 miles an hour, and pretty much the whole time I kept thinking “I LOVE riding my bike!” I have a loooong way to go between now and May 4th, but I cannot wait to spend more time out on the roads.  Running is still my first love, but I forgot how fun and satisfying long rides can be. And thank the lord I bought toe covers.  It was nice to finish a ride and still have feeling in my feet!

In the end, this was a pretty good week of training for me:

training

I know, I know, I need to swim more

While we’re on the topic of “things that are intimidating but end up being better than expected,” I would like to talk about French macarons.  I’ve eaten a few, think they’re all right but nothing special, and never really had any desire to make them.  But over Winter Break, Mike mentioned that he wanted to try them and I decided that the challenge would be fun.

I found this recipe, which is different from every other macaron recipe I’ve seen, but decided to give it a shot.  It worked perfectly!  I was kind of shocked, since I know these are finicky little beasts.  I checked on them pretty much every minute they were in the oven (through the door), and was overjoyed to see they had feet (even if the feet stuck out a little bit).

macarons

Then I filled them with vanilla bean frosting, ate way too many, and felt grossly sugar-hungover the next day. Standard.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:120]

(adapted from Squirrel Bakes)

9 Responses to “Espresso Macarons with Vanilla Bean filling”


  1. 2 Beth January 8, 2013 at 9:33 am

    I love macarons! These look delicious. What software are you using to track your tri training?

  2. 4 Kate January 8, 2013 at 2:00 pm

    You and your bike are so cute!

  3. 5 RoadBunner January 9, 2013 at 12:35 pm

    That “shorter/easier” ride sounds pretty long and hard to me 🙂 Glad you are finding your love for the bike again. I wish I enjoyed cycling, too.

  4. 6 Kelsey January 11, 2013 at 12:21 pm

    LOVE this flavor combination. They look so perfect, Cate!

  5. 7 Vanilla Bean Pods January 14, 2013 at 8:17 am

    These sound absolutely delicious! They look fantastic too.

    Best wishes, Alex

  6. 8 Cate January 21, 2013 at 1:05 am

    My name is Cate too, and I also live in the SF Bay Area!

  7. 9 Nerissa April 30, 2013 at 5:18 pm

    The base macaron recipe Squirrel Bakes is using is the world famous Pierre Herme’s recipe. He has one of the most famous patisseries in all of Paris.

    It’s a great recipe that is absolutely reliable.

    Cheers!


Leave a Reply

