2012 Recap and 2013 Goals

I’m not sure what I was thinking when I wrote this sentence in my goals for 2012:

I am going to run a sub-20 5K or die trying.

Well, I didn’t do either of those things this year, but the year was not a total loss.

I ran two marathons (Big Sur in 3:49 and CIM in a monsoon in 3:43).

I brought my half marathon PR down to 1:38:40, my 10K PR down to 44:30 (official) or 44:00 (training run), and my 5K PR down to 20:52. Can’t complain about any of that!

2013 is going to be a little different, though.  As of right now, there is only ONE race on the calendar.

I don’t have a time goal for the Long Course (70.3) at Wildflower.   The bike course is slightly terrifying, and the run course is 60% trails.

Other than finishing that, my only goals for this year are:

1. Do at least two non-running workouts a week.  During tri training, this will obviously be happening a lot.  But while I was training for CIM, I pretty much didn’t do anything but run, and I think I got a little burned out.  I’m still totally in love with ZWOW workouts and am kind of tempted to try a few of these.

2. Do at least 3 trail races.  Because trails are so freaking fun.

3. Track my mileage all year.   This year I ran somewhere around 1500 miles, but I forgot to log a few of my runs.  I’m over Daily Mile so I’m looking for something new.  I like Training Peaks, but I feel like it’s mostly geared toward time and I can’t really figure out how to tally total mileage (but maybe that’s a good thing?)

As far as the direction this blog is headed…I’m not really sure.  I’ve definitely slowed way down on posting, and I talk almost as much about running as I do about food now.  I definitely don’t intend to quit blogging altogether, but I’m probably going to post only when I have a really good recipe or a race recap or an obscenely cute picture of my child.  I’m grateful to everyone who still reads, comments, and emails, and I love having this place to vent about crappy workouts, celebrate good races, and share delicious things I’ve made (when I remember to take pictures of them).

 

Happy New Year!

 

 

7 Responses to “2012 Recap and 2013 Goals”


  1. 1 lauren December 28, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    I used http://www.runningahead.com for mileage tracking – it will also track bike & swim for your tri training! I’ve been pleased with this site for 2012 & will continue to use it to track my mileage going forward.

  2. 2 Cate December 28, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    Thanks! I will check that out

  3. 3 Aron December 28, 2012 at 4:25 pm

    I am a big fan of goal #2 🙂

    You had a great 2012!! And just coming off of having a baby – sheesh 😉

  4. 4 Kate December 28, 2012 at 8:08 pm

    You had some crazy PRs this year!

  5. 5 Cathryn December 29, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    OR…you could resolve to blog more??

  6. 6 Brita December 30, 2012 at 10:51 am

    Hi Cate! I discovered your blog a few years ago when I was an undergrad at Cal Poly and I have been a dedicated reader ever since. I have so appreciated the delicious recipes and lovely photos (of food, family, and city outings) that you post. I too am an avid runner and have recently decided to introduce more yoga and climbing into my workout routine. Anyway, just thought I’d leave this comment to say thank you for blogging and good luck training for Wildflower!

  7. 7 Kelli @ The Corner Kitchen January 8, 2013 at 11:16 am

    Wildflower is on my triathlon bucket list! So exciting that you’re doing it this year…..happy training 🙂


Leave a Reply

