Masala Red Lentils with Chard

Our house is filled with Christmas cookies right now.  I could banish them and insist on eating only healthy stuff, but honestly, it’s a couple weeks of my life and I LOVE this time of year and all the sugary goodness that comes with it.

Ellie has gotten it in her head that if she points at something sweet and nods vigorously, we’ll give it to her.  I’m not sure where she got this idea.

Oh wait, this might have something to do with it.

 

This is not a normal occurrence, really.  She usually eats bananas and sweet potatoes and plain yogurt and pears.

I ended my week of laziness with a slooow 22 mile bike ride yesterday.  I was loving life and wondering why I stopped cycling…and then around mile 7 my rear end reminded me that it was ridiculous to think I could just go out and breeze through a ride like this. OW. My plan for 70.3 training is to just do what I want as long as I’m running, swimming, and cycling at least twice a week.  Today I ran a fairly uncomfortable 4.4 miles after work.  Weird that beer and cookies and being lazy for a week doesn’t make you feel light on your feet.

But I listened to a podcast and someone decorated a tree along the path so it wasn’t a completely miserable experience.

This is totally NOT one of those back on track healthy recipes. It’s pretty rich, but the flavor is complex and warm and I made a giant batch of it just so I can eat it for lunch all week.  This is a scaled up recipe from the original and I used chard instead of spinach.  I made saffron rice to serve alongside it and it was a satisfying, delicious meal.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:116]

(slightly adapted from Naturally Ella)

3 Responses to “Masala Red Lentils with Chard”


  1. 1 Kate December 11, 2012 at 11:12 am

    The problem with toddlers is that they’re so visual. It’s hard to say no when they’re pointing at everything on the counter. We have to hide sweets from view.

  2. 2 Cathryn December 12, 2012 at 1:23 am

    This looks amazing. We’re in Tokyo at the moment and although the sushi/noodles etc are amazing, I’m kind of craving good old fashioned SF veggie food like lentils and chard. We’re back on Saturday – this will be dinner on Sunday, thank you.

  3. 3 Kare @ Kitchen Treaty December 12, 2012 at 5:09 am

    I love this; it looks so hearty and delicious. One of the reasons I was intrigued is because it looks like something healthy that my own toddler would enjoy.

    Meanwhile though, I gave her her first bite of cookie yesterday. Big, wide, happy eyes. Whoops! 🙂


Leave a Reply

