Seitan Pot Pie

On Sunday we ventured into the city with to stock up on tons of pantry stuff at the one and only Rainbow Grocery. If that store could open a branch in Walnut Creek, I would appreciate it immensely. (I realize that’s never going to happen).

Since we were going all the way across the bay anyway, we decided to add a couple side trips.  First, we went to Trouble Coffee for lattes and toast.  It was a beautiful day, so we strolled down to the beach.  Ellie’s gotten pretty awesome at walking, but the sand provided some new challenges.  Still, she LOVED every minute: watching the dogs, saying hi to people, and trying to explain to us everything she saw.

I’ve lived here for 2+ years now but I always seem to forget that November is pretty much the best month of the year on the ocean side of the city.  It was perfect.

It’s still a tiny bit warm for comfort food, but that’s not stopping me.  This was a little bit involved for a weeknight, but it was delicious.  Filling and hearty, with a whole-wheat cornmeal crust and plenty of seitan and vegetables inside, all three of us loved it.  It’s definitely going into the rotation all fall and winter long!

I made my seitan using this recipe, but if you’re short on time, you can use store-bought. I know it’s kind of wrong, but I un-veganized this recipe.  I used butter in the crust instead of shortening.  If you’re vegan, you can use shortening (or I’d imagine Earth Balance would be pretty good too), but since I’m not, I just couldn’t make pastry without real butter.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:114]

(adapted from Veganomicon)

 

3 Responses to “Seitan Pot Pie”


  1. 1 Kate November 21, 2012 at 7:25 pm

    My guy gets tripped up by the sand too. But he loves it.

  2. 2 Kelsey November 23, 2012 at 10:09 am

    This definitely looks like comfort food to me.

  3. 3 Sunnie@moderngirlnutrition November 26, 2012 at 9:14 pm

    Just found your blog- love it! Such a creative recipe:) Pot pies have to be one of the foods I miss the most!


Leave a Reply

