Pumpkin Roll Cake with Bourbon Caramel Sauce

A couple thoughts:

1. I used to get SO irritated with my mom because she had a “No Christmas Music until December 10th” rule. DECEMBER TENTH.  Now I totally get it.  Mike put on Christmas music the other night and I was SO not ready for it.

2. Of all the things I have to be thankful for, central heating is definitely in the top 3.

3. I used to think I wanted to move to Colorado.  Then this morning it was 40 degrees and I realized I would not survive one second there.

4. I feel like the pumpkin window is closing way too fast.  People are already on to red cups and Christmas cookies and I’m like WAIT. I still have six big cans of pumpkin and 92 pumpkin recipes I haven’t made yet!  So here’s one of them.

Even if you don’t make the cake, at least make the caramel sauce.  I don’t like buorbon, but I could (ok, did) eat this sauce with a spoon.

The original recipe for this cake comes from The Pastry Queen cookbook, but I changed a couple things.  First of all, I left the nuts out of the filling.  I also used only cream cheese instead of cream cheese + mascarpone, and I skipped the whipped cream on top and melted chocolate on top because it was already plenty rich.  As for the caramel sauce, it called for rum, but I used bourbon instead.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:113]

14 Responses to “Pumpkin Roll Cake with Bourbon Caramel Sauce”


  1. 1 alyssa November 12, 2012 at 9:30 am

    THIS LOOKS HEAVENLY.

    Just while you didn’t get the whole “no Xmas music until Dec. 1” am still not understanding the fascination with red cups. It’s a red cup that’s mostly covered up with a sleeve anyway?!?! 😉

  2. 2 natalie@thesweetslife November 12, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    i’m with you!! i need more pumpkin time!

    this looks amazing-i made a pumpkin roll last year but MUST try this sauce!

  3. 3 Annie November 12, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    I’ve never been all that compelled to make a pumpkin roll, but I think you just changed that. YUM.

  4. 4 Kelsey November 13, 2012 at 9:33 am

    I agree with you on everything except the Christmas music and love of bourbon. I’m not ready for the Christmas music until the day after Thanksgiving, but I’m ALWAYS ready for bourbon. This cake looks like a great way to use some up. YUM!

  5. 5 Kate November 13, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    I’m getting ready for roll cakes! Tis the season. But not for Christmas Music. Not till November 23.

  6. 6 LadyK November 13, 2012 at 10:22 pm

    I have a good tip I learned for making sure no matter what your jelly roll doesn’t crack as you roll it.

    While it’s still warm roll it up in a linen cloth dusted with powdered sugar. Let cool. When it is cool, gently unroll the cake, spread with the filling, and roll the cake again (minus the cloth).

  7. 7 Michael Melton November 14, 2012 at 8:22 am

    When one is drinking a seasonal ale, one must always indulge in a little early Christmas music…and Eleanor LOVED it…the music, not the seasonal ale.

  8. 8 Wizzy November 14, 2012 at 11:56 am

    Love pumpkin roll…oooh but that caramel sauce just puts it over the top yum.

  9. 9 Cathryn November 15, 2012 at 9:17 am

    I’m with you…December 1st is the suitable date to start Christmas music. And I’d always fancy moving to Colorado too. It just means you need warmer clothing – and I can never resist outdoorsy clothing!

  10. 10 Angela November 16, 2012 at 3:58 pm

    Awesome. FYI, I plan to keep making pumpkin stuff into December. 🙂

  11. 11 Linda November 17, 2012 at 11:24 am

    OK, I’m keen to try this and bring it along for Thanksgiving – I’m going to try a dry run on my family this weekend. Is it really THREE 8-ounce packages of cream cheese in the filling?


  1. 1 47 Incredible Thanksgiving Recipes Trackback on November 15, 2012 at 5:26 am
  2. 2 Merry Christmas, BEDFORD FALLSSSS!!! | Wait…are those…cookies?! Trackback on December 25, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Leave a Reply

