Momofuku Birthday Cake

In spite of the fact that the compost cookies completely flopped, I am completely in love with the Momofuku Milk Bar cookbook.  When Mike decided he wanted his birthday cake to be THE birthday cake from the book, I was super stoked….until I realized that I didn’t have any acetate sheets or clear vanilla extract.  But I can assure you that even with regular old vanilla extract, this beats any other homemade funfetti cake by a mile (and I’ve tried a few).  Plus, you can buy acetate sheets (overhead transparencies) from the print-shop section of an office supply store for about a dollar a sheet (I used 2 sheets for the cake) and just tape them together.

Thanks to my less than stellar reading comprehension skills (an affliction that worsens when I’m overly excited about trying a new recipe), I started baking only about 8 hours before we wanted to eat.  The recipe tells you to put the cake in the freezer for at least 12, and then thaw in the fridge for 3, but 3 hours in the freezer was plenty.

This cookbook is what initially sold me on baking by weight (The Bread Baker’s Apprentice recommends it as well, but I couldn’t be bothered until sweets were involved), so I HIGHLY recommend using a kitchen scale for this.  I am listing the weights because I didn’t measure by volume, except for liquids and little stuff like baking powder.  The directions say to bake it in a quarter sheet pan and then use cake rings to make 6″ round layers.  I just divided the batter in thirds and baked it in 6″ round pans and it worked perfectly.

My parents, Mike and I all agreed that this cake was HEAVENLY.  It’s very sweet, but the frosting is like no other homemade frosting I’ve ever had; a perfect hybrid of buttercream and cream cheese frosting.  The crumbs between each layer are a must because of the unexpected contrast they provide.  I know the recipe looks like a major production, but it’s a lot of fun to put together!

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:111]

(from Momofuku Milk Bar)

6 Responses to “Momofuku Birthday Cake”


  1. 1 Beth October 31, 2012 at 12:30 pm

    this looks amazing! Happy Birthday to Mike 🙂 what’s the point of the acetate sheets, though?

    • 2 Cate November 1, 2012 at 10:55 am

      They keep the frosting from spilling out between the layers, since you don’t frost the sides. Plus it makes sure the stack is nice and neat

  2. 3 Kate October 31, 2012 at 10:25 pm

    You completely sold me on the frosting.

  3. 4 Lina November 1, 2012 at 12:20 am

    Looks divine, and a big fan of your weighing the ingredients, makes it a lot easier for those of us who isnt yoused to measuring in cups 😉

    I think it’s just a matter of habit anyway, i think it’s easier to just but the bowl on the scale and pour in the right amount, instead of having to try to first get exactly one and a half cup into the measurer (or whatever it’s called 🙂 ) Thanks for sharing!

  4. 5 Josie November 1, 2012 at 6:37 am

    I’ve been wanting to make that cake too – yours turned out so pretty!


Leave a Reply

