Swiss Chard, Portobello, and Swiss Cheese Sandwiches

It’s FALL! Last week started with 100+ degree temperatures and ended in the 70s.  Running has been significantly more enjoyable, and the sky has been pretty, too.

Ellie has a new obsession: refrigerator letters.  I don’t even know how many hours she’s spent moving them from the freezer door to the fridge door and back.

Dinner around here lately has been a rotation of chili, giant quinoa salads, and anything else I can think of to use up pantry odds and ends.  It’s been awhile since I’ve felt even remotely creative in the kitchen, but the other day  Mike suggested vegetable sandwiches for dinner and this is what I came up with.  Sauteed swiss chard and onion, roasted portobellos, and swiss cheese on a baguette (stone-ground mustard optional), toasted in the oven.

 

Of course there were some nutritional yeast kale chips on the side!

 

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:108]

3 Responses to “Swiss Chard, Portobello, and Swiss Cheese Sandwiches”


  1. 1 Kare @ Kitchen Treaty October 8, 2012 at 6:52 am

    These look so hearty and delicious. My mouth is watering!

    We have an Ellie too (though we spell it Elli; short for Eloise). 🙂 I think I need to get her some refrigerator magnets!

  2. 2 Beth October 8, 2012 at 9:12 am

    I’m adding these to my vegetarian sandwich list! Also, I think stone ground mustard is never optional 🙂

  3. 3 Kate October 8, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    We went for a walk/run tonight (I ran, J and the babe walked) and when I caught back up with them on the way home, J noted that it is finally beginning to feel like October!

    We keep some baby-safe magnets on the bottom of our fridge too. Except our little guy enjoys pulling them off and putting them on the floor. Sometimes they end up back on the fridge.


Leave a Reply

