Caramel Pretzel Brownies

I survived the first day of school, and only messed up my schedule once! (Didn’t realize which period I had lunch and went to eat, not realizing my kids were lined up outside my room. OOPS)  Fortunately I was corrected quickly and only missed about 3 minutes of actual class time.

My pre-back-to-school activities involved stress baking these brownies, and getting up way too early to squeeze in 5 miles before the day started.  My parents are here right now so Mike and I got to run together in the morning, which was awesome.

I knew I couldn’t show up empty-handed on the first day of work, and these quickly disappeared in the staff room.  I’m really excited about all the teachers I’m working with this year (although I am missing my old school a lot too.)

I pinned (and made) this recipe last week, but wasn’t in love with the bar part of it, so I just switched to a brownie base and loved the result.  Just the right mix of chocolate, salty, and sweet!

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:103]

(base adapted from the Joy the Baker cookbook, toppings from The Hungry Housewife)

23 Responses to “Caramel Pretzel Brownies”


  1. 1 Blog is the New BLack August 30, 2012 at 4:50 am

    I need to make this ASAP! Starred! 🙂

  2. 2 Kelsey August 30, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    Wow! These look like just the kind of treat teachers LOVE on those high pressure days. So glad your new school is off to a good start.

  3. 3 Kate August 30, 2012 at 8:00 pm

    I bet the kids would have loved having a free period while you lunched!

  4. 4 Cathryn @ myheartscontent August 31, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    These look amazing…labor day baking, I think!!

  5. 5 Cate September 16, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    I must try this recipe – and SOON!!

  6. 6 Cate September 16, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    I must try these brownies, they look marvelous!

  7. 7 Erin September 19, 2012 at 8:38 am

    Nom nom nom, sweet and salty is the best combo!

  8. 8 brendajos November 8, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    I love the idea of these but had trouble with them. Any tips on keeping the pretzels crunchy? They were great until I cut them and stored them and then they went soft. 😦

  9. 9 cosmic December 22, 2012 at 10:42 am

    Might be like cookies brendajos. Stick a piece of bread inside before you close them up and see if that helps.

    I need to try these 😉

  10. 10 Donna January 26, 2013 at 1:46 pm

    I have these in the oven right now! I used a boxed brownie mix instead.

  11. 11 Kelly January 27, 2013 at 3:42 am

    was definitely wondering if the boxed brownie idea would work the same. Simply add the pretzels on top. and maybe even carmel sundae topping to avoid the melting of the carmels. Donna, how did the box brownie work?

  12. 12 Melissa February 21, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    Drizzle with white chocolate for my favorite pms craving

  13. 13 Brooke March 16, 2013 at 7:35 pm

    I am baking these right now and these brownies are taking more like 45 min to bake and not 25! I am using the recipe not a boxed mix. :/ was hoping for a preggo snack by midnight but might be later than that now! Either way they do smell wonderful and I can’t wait to dig in!

  14. 14 Dana March 24, 2013 at 7:48 pm

    The box brownie mix worked well. It came with the frosting, so instead of using the melted chocolate I used the frosting. Tasty treat!!!

  15. 15 kari April 12, 2013 at 8:04 pm

    Wow! These look awesome. So pinning this. Thank you for the recipe!
    kari/sourdoughnative.blogspot.com

  16. 16 Lisa April 13, 2013 at 4:48 pm

    These were delish! I cheated and used a brownie mix. I also changed it up by using white chocolate instead of milk, b/c I love white-chocolate-covered pretzels. That was a good swap too! I think I will use more pretzels next time – we love the salty-sweet combo.

  17. 18 Winona Pierce September 22, 2013 at 2:24 pm

    These look amazing! I was slightly confused on the chocolate parts.. Do you melt the unsweet chocolate with the butter for the brownie and then drizzle the milk chocolate on the top? Thanks!

  18. 19 Winona Pierce September 22, 2013 at 2:26 pm

    Never mind 🙂 I see where it says toppings!


  1. 1 Saturday Special {Week 34} Trackback on March 22, 2013 at 10:32 pm
  2. 2 Things To Try Thursday – 04/04/13 | Kirschplunder's Blog Trackback on April 4, 2013 at 7:53 am
  3. 3 Brownies with Pretzels and Caramel | Pale Yellow Trackback on July 24, 2013 at 2:01 am
  4. 4 Life {Lately} | The Jaderstons Trackback on October 10, 2013 at 7:54 am

Leave a Reply

