Chickpea and Pasta Salad

Life is about to get real.  I worked every day last week making copies, planning lessons, and prepping my room but now the school year and marathon training are starting and I’m going to have 240 students (and all their work) to keep track of.

It’s a good thing I like to be busy.

The key to the next couple months is going to be PREPARATION.  No more dawdling around all morning and then deciding to go on a leisurely stroller run at 11 AM.  No more abandoning meal planning because I can drop by the grocery store (it’s around the corner) any time I feel like it.  Time will be precious and there is a LOT to squeeze in now!  I need to get everything done and make sure I have time to hang out with my favorite people.

Right now my bike is set up on its trainer, my outfit for the work day is ready to go, and my lunch is packed. I’ve talked about my Sunday prep before, but I’m back at it again now (today I baked tofu and cooked up a ton of quinoa).  It took me awhile to realize it, but I’m able to get so much more done when my schedule is heavily booked, so I’m actually looking forward to having so much on my plate.

The beauty of this salad is that it’s quick to prepare, and it’s great to make ahead for lunches throughout the week.  It’s a little lacking in fresh vegetables, so I serve it over a big bed of greens (unpictured) for a healthy one-bowl meal.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:102]

10 Responses to “Chickpea and Pasta Salad”


  1. 1 Kare @ Kitchen Treaty August 27, 2012 at 6:59 am

    The combo of artichoke hearts and sun-dried tomatoes sound divine. Best of luck to you as the pace picks up!

  2. 2 Naomi August 27, 2012 at 7:26 am

    Happy Back-to-School Day! As the child of a 40+year teacher, I can appreciate the time and commitment you put towards your students. {and this recipe looks great – definitely going to give it a try it soon!}

  3. 3 Cathryn @ myheartscontent August 27, 2012 at 8:48 am

    This does look good, I’m going to try it this week!!

  4. 4 Beth August 27, 2012 at 11:25 am

    Happy first day of school!

  5. 5 Kate August 27, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    Sunday prep-day is crucial for working moms. I don’t know how people function without it.

  6. 6 Kelsey August 27, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    Isn’t it amazing how quickly the school year comes back around? Good luck this week and next week when the kids come!

  7. 7 Kristine August 28, 2012 at 1:27 pm

    I hope your first week of school goes well! I completely understand how busy things are going to be. I start teaching this week too (but I’m lucky enough to job share and only work 3 days a week), and while I’m not training for a marathon, I am committed to fitting in exercise. And I’m now a mom of two- a 3 year old and 4 month old. I’m planning to just take it one day at a time and enjoy each day as it comes. Good luck!

  8. 8 Brianna August 29, 2012 at 1:54 pm

    This looks delicious, Cate! I’m in need of new things to make for my husband’s lunches (and mine) and this looks perfect. Hope you all are doing well – good luck with the beginning of school!

  9. 9 RoadBunner August 30, 2012 at 10:51 am

    Favorited this post to try out the recipe. Looks easy and yummy.


  1. 1 5 Ideas for Vegetarian Lunches at Work | Eat Good, Feel Good Trackback on June 10, 2013 at 10:12 am

Leave a Reply

