Cornmeal Crepes with Black Beans and Zucchini

I’m not good at handling stress.  I fidget, I feel sick to my stomach, I make a million lists (which kind of stresses me out even more), I snap at Mike even when he’s being incredibly understanding and helpful.  Sometimes he just looks me in the eye, and tells me “I think you might need to go for a run right now.”

He’s usually right, and it usually helps.  Cooking sometimes helps too (unless I’m at that point where all I can do is shove a peanut butter sandwich in my face and keep bouncing around the house attempting to cross multiple things off the to-do list simultaneously).

The beginning of the school year always gets me a little stressed, but now that it’s my third year of teaching I’m starting to handle it a little better…so slightly less fidgeting, slightly fewer peanut butter sandwiches, and more cathartic cooking projects like this one.  And now, thanks to that half Ironman looming in the distance, 5 AM trainer rides! (Thanks so much for documenting this for posterity, Mike).

These are about as labor-intensive as enchiladas, but the crepes make them feel a little fancier.  If you already have salsa made (or a jar of it), you can just make the batter, prepare the filling while the batter rests, and then cook the crepes and assemble your meal.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:101]

crepes adapted from Epicurious

3 Responses to “Cornmeal Crepes with Black Beans and Zucchini”


  1. 1 Kierstan @ Life {and running} in Iowa August 24, 2012 at 5:50 am

    These look awesome! And thankfully, I have everything I need to make them!

  2. 2 Beth August 24, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    The crepes look delicious! Also, isn’t Wildflower 7 months away? You’re already doing 5AM trainer rides? that’s crazy dedication 🙂 Happy start of the school year!

  3. 3 Kate August 24, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    I love that your bike is in your kitchen. Because I couldn’t even begin to imagine where I’d fit in a piece of exercise equipment and this makes me feel more normal.


Leave a Reply

Twitter

  • Lovett or Leave It: my new favorite podcast. Waiting til the weekend is even harder now 6 days ago
  • I've apparently become a person who spends her weekend doing yard work 😬 1 week ago
  • Apparently when you buy a house your parents decide it's finally time to give you all your papers from high school 1 week ago

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

