Peanut Butter Chip Brownies

Lets talk goals.  A few months ago when running was going incredibly well, I made a goal to run the the San Francisco Half Marathon (2nd half) in 1:35. I did a bunch of goal pace (7:15/mile) runs and felt really strong.  Two weeks ago I did my longest training run ever while training for a half (16 miles).  I figured my goal was tough, but possibly attainable.

Then we moved and I realized four days had gone by with no running.  This week, every run felt a lot harder than it should have given my slow paces.  I’m not  sure 1:35 is attainable, and I’m not even sure a PR (1:39:48) is either.  I know my training is solid, though.  I had a pretty good base, and it’s really only been the last 2 weeks that things kind of went to crap.  So my plan is to go out at about 7:30 pace and see what happens from there.

I went to the expo yesterday and ran into two of my favorite runner friends.

I’m really looking forward to hanging out with all the Bay Area runners after the race. I’m also really looking forward to eating these brownies.  I used Joy the Baker’s brownie recipe but left out the extra egg yolk (mainly out of laziness) and added a bag of peanut butter chips.  Delicious!

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:95]

(barely adapted from the Joy the Baker cookbook)

6 Responses to “Peanut Butter Chip Brownies”


  1. 1 Page July 28, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    Just run as you feel – you might surprise yourself. Have a great race!

  2. 2 Cathryn Ramsden July 28, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    Good luck tomorrow…I’m running the first half. SO excited!!! Hope you’re happy with your run.

    And I WISH I’d carrier my toddler in an Ergo yesterday at the Expo. A running stroller was a pain in the neck!! Although useful for carrying stuff.

  3. 3 Aron July 28, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    Sounds like a normal taper to me! Less mileage, doubts, etc… Stay confident and go for it! SFM does have magical powers with you 😉

  4. 4 Kate July 29, 2012 at 8:53 am

    Good luck tomorrow!

  5. 5 Renee July 29, 2012 at 10:06 pm

    Oh man…please tell me I didn’t miss these brownies post-race!? I want a do-over. 🙂

  6. 6 Jen July 30, 2012 at 4:04 am

    the brownies look like my dream come true! i can’t wait to read about the race!


Leave a Reply

