Bread and Butter (refrigerator) Pickles

The canning part of this pickle situation did not go very well.  Fortunately, I still have a couple jars of these lovely pickles in the fridge but they never sealed. I could try again with new lids, but I’m probably going to eat them all fast enough that I don’t need to bother with sealing them the right way anyway. They are DELCIOUS.  Just the right balance of salty, sour, and sweet.

I still have not successfully canned anything.  It’s my goal for August (once I’ve unpacked in our new kitchen).

My life is in boxes right now and  Ellie loves them!

 

For the first time ever, we hired movers.  It was definitely a splurge and I am still not sure it’s worth it, but since we live up a flight of stairs and have a couple pretty heavy pieces of furniture, it seemed like an okay decision.  I’m sure that on Friday night when my back and arms aren’t completely dead, I’ll be happy we did it.

I’m writing the recipe for these to just be refrigerator pickles because that’s how mine ended up and I don’t feel like typing up a procedure that didn’t work for me.  Once I successfully can something, trust me, I will let the world know.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:92]

(from the Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving)

4 Responses to “Bread and Butter (refrigerator) Pickles”


  1. 1 Amber July 16, 2012 at 12:49 pm

    I’m looking at trying my first canning experiance and pickels seem to be a good way, so does the boiling liquid seal the jars? No boiling of the jars?

    Amber

    • 2 Cate July 17, 2012 at 12:20 pm

      If you want to seal the jars so the pickles are shelf stable, you have to boil the jars for at least 10 minutes, then leave them on the counter for 24 hours so they have a chance to seal. If you’re just making refrigerator pickles, you don’t need to boil them since having a seal won’t matter (they just won’t keep as long)

  2. 3 Kate July 16, 2012 at 8:06 pm

    We finally felt like grownups when we hired movers for the first time.

  3. 4 Nick June 13, 2013 at 10:36 am

    Hi! I made the bread and butter pickles for the first time ever and they turned out WONDERFUL!!! My husband is not a fan of sweet pickles but no worries; more for me!!! 🙂 Thank you so much for posting the recipe!


Leave a Reply

Twitter

  • Lovett or Leave It: my new favorite podcast. Waiting til the weekend is even harder now 6 days ago
  • I've apparently become a person who spends her weekend doing yard work 😬 1 week ago
  • Apparently when you buy a house your parents decide it's finally time to give you all your papers from high school 1 week ago

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

