Ready to Move

After weeks of stressing out (unnecesarily, it turns out), we now have a place to live AND a great daycare lined up in the East Bay.  Moving day is coming up fast, so I’ve been busy getting ready for that instead of doing anything interesting in the kitchen.  Lately it’s been tacos and soba salads and (when I’m really lazy) bread and cheese.

This weekend, we went out to sign our lease and get a better feel for our new town.  We went to the farmers market (it’s within walking distance from our new house!) and bought five pounds of cherries.  We marveled at the sun.  We took Ellie to a great park.

We all hung out on a blanket in the shade for about an hour.  I don’t think Ellie’s ever spent that much time outside before (except when bundled up in the running stroller).  She loved it almost as much as we did.

We made one quick stop to purchase new flip flops for me and Ellie’s first pair of sunglasses.

After a few hours exploring, we drove back across the bay.

This week I’m trying to pack up our lives while teaching three different classes in summer school, and my family is here to take care of Ellie because daycare is closed for the week.  I don’t know what I’d do without them.  Especially my dad, who is currently in the kitchen preparing a Thai feast.  My parents took a cooking class when they were in Chaing Mai a few months ago, and Penang curry is now his specialty.

My sister and I are about to make the brownies from the Joy the Baker cookbook.  Pretty nice little Tuesday night!

8 Responses to “Ready to Move”


  1. 1 Courtney @ The Granola Chronicles July 10, 2012 at 9:51 pm

    FRIEND!! So, so excited for you guys! I need details though. 🙂

  2. 2 Marya July 10, 2012 at 11:24 pm

    I love your life. I love how you make things happen. And I love how happy your baby always looks. 🙂 Aw.

  3. 3 Aron July 11, 2012 at 7:09 am

    I know I keep saying this but I AM SO EXCITED 🙂 I knew it would all work out, and it did. Can’t wait to see you in the east bay next week!!!

  4. 4 Kate July 11, 2012 at 6:16 pm

    Sounds like things are really working out for you!

  5. 5 Michael July 12, 2012 at 9:57 am

    I’m so excited to come out of hibernation and enjoy the sun/warmth of Dub-C … and the Iron Horse trail is going to be so money!

  6. 6 Page July 12, 2012 at 11:47 am

    CAN’T WAIT TO HAVE YOU IN THE EAAAAAAAST BAY!

  7. 7 RoadBunner July 12, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    BOo!! We will miss you on this side of the bay. Ellie looks great in her sunglasses!

  8. 8 Cathryn @ myheartscontent July 13, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    ‘We marveled at the sun’. Made me laugh so much!! When we moved from the UK to the Bay Area peninsula we needed a whole new wardrobe…sounds like you’ll need to do the same! How exciting your move is!


Leave a Reply

