Aloo Sak (Spiced spinach and potatoes)

I hope you had a great holiday yesterday!  Ours was incredibly mellow:  we all took naps, I went for a short run, and I spent a couple hours in the kitchen making Indian food (because nothing says Happy Birthday, America! like chapatis hot from the skillet).

Yesterday was day 38, the final day of the Runners World Summer Run Streak.

I ended up running 200.82 miles…and I think I’m going to try and stretch the streak to 40 or maybe 50 days, but we’ll see.

Ellie’s become incredibly mobile and is constantly exploring.  We had to do some crazy last-minute babyproofing because we didn’t realize how fast she’d be able to get into everything.

I tend to have a hard time coming up with vegetable sides when I make Indian food, and palak paneer (my favorite!) is just a little too heavy for summer.  This recipe is pretty easy and the flavor is outstanding.  I paired it with masala chana dal and it was a great dinner.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:91]

(adaped from The Art of Indian Vegetarian Cooking)

4 Responses to “Aloo Sak (Spiced spinach and potatoes)”


  1. 1 Renee July 6, 2012 at 9:02 am

    This actually looks like a recipe I can handle. Would it work ok if I only used oil?

  2. 3 Kate July 6, 2012 at 8:31 pm

    We had Thai food on Fourth of July. So patriotic.

  3. 4 Courtney @ The Granola Chronicles July 8, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    Definitely trying this – we LOVE Indian food!

    By the way, can we see each other soon?! We’re completely moved now, so we’re not too far away from you guys!


Leave a Reply

Twitter

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

