Mixed Vegetable and Farro Salad with Goat Cheese


The other night I spent almost three hours last night making some Ethiopian food. One of the perks of only working part-time in the summer is having a lot of time to cook!


I made injera, collard greens, red lentils, and mushrooms. <– (none of the recipes are mine)

I had two really pathetic days this week and ran just over a mile (just to keep the stupid streak going), but yesterday things started to turn around and I ran my usual 4.5 mile loop, pushing the stroller, at just under 8:00/mile pace.  Then today I ran nine miles at 7:35 pace.  Hopefully that means I’m officially out of whatever funk I was in.

If you don’t have the time or want to take the time to put together a big involved meal, this salad is pretty great.  You can cook the farro and  chop and/or  grill/roast the vegetables in advance if you want to. Once that’s done all you need to do is whisk up the dressing and crumble some goat cheese over the top.  I roasted the vegetables, but if you’re one of those lucky souls that lives somewhere it gets too hot to turn on the oven at this time of year, you can grill them in a basket.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:89]

6 Responses to “Mixed Vegetable and Farro Salad with Goat Cheese”


  1. 1 Kelsey June 29, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    Oh yum. I’ve been slacking on eating my veggies the last couple of days and this looks like the perfect way to get back on track.

  2. 2 Emily Malone June 29, 2012 at 7:53 pm

    I can’t believe you made injera! So awesome! We are taking an Ethiopian cooking class in a few weeks, and I am so excited. It’s our favorite ethnic cuisine!

  3. 3 Kate June 30, 2012 at 3:49 am

    I think your Ethiopian cooking is so impressive!

  4. 4 TeriLyn [a foodie stays fit] June 30, 2012 at 7:04 am

    I LOVE farro!! I’ve got to try this recipe.

  5. 5 elly July 2, 2012 at 7:15 am

    This looks great. I’ve been making grain salads weekly, and I can’t wait to try this one.

  6. 6 Cathryn @ MyHeartsContent July 2, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    I made this tonight – substituted sweet potato for the zucchini and added extra peppers (just what I had in the fridge) but it was delicious! We had it with salad and I feel like I ate so healthily it made up for the doritos I had this afternoon!!

    Really nice and SO simple, thanks for the recipe.


Leave a Reply

Twitter

  • Lovett or Leave It: my new favorite podcast. Waiting til the weekend is even harder now 6 days ago
  • I've apparently become a person who spends her weekend doing yard work 😬 1 week ago
  • Apparently when you buy a house your parents decide it's finally time to give you all your papers from high school 1 week ago

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

