Chocolate Malt Cake

My parents just got back from 5 weeks in Bhutan (my dad was doing doctor stuff and my mom was teaching 5th grade English), it was their 33rd wedding anniversary, AND Ellie turned 9 months old.

Cake was definitely in order.

My parents both love chocolate and malt, so it was a natural choice.  My sister baked the cake, I made the frosting, and we all ate big slices (except Ellie).   The cake itself is incredibly chocolatey and moist, and the frosting is very rich.  No matter what you’re celebrating, this is a great cake for it.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:84]

(cake from My Baking Addiction, frosting inspired by Martha Stewart)

3 Responses to “Chocolate Malt Cake”


  1. 1 Kelsey June 14, 2012 at 9:16 am

    Congratulations all around! What a wonderful way to celebrate together 🙂

  2. 2 Kate June 14, 2012 at 9:43 am

    My dad used to love chocolate and malt – shakes, whoppers, you name it!

  3. 3 Brigitte June 14, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    mmm…i like the look of this cake AND this child.


Leave a Reply

Twitter

  • Lovett or Leave It: my new favorite podcast. Waiting til the weekend is even harder now 4 days ago
  • I've apparently become a person who spends her weekend doing yard work 😬 6 days ago
  • Apparently when you buy a house your parents decide it's finally time to give you all your papers from high school 1 week ago

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

