Udon with Peanut-Hoisin Sauce


I think I sometimes take for granted how great it is to have a happy, healthy kid.

Ellie was a little bit sick a few days ago and it was pretty much the saddest thing ever. She only had a fever of 101 and it was very short-lived, but for about 24 hours, she was totally not herself.

Our loud, independent girl suddenly morphed into a timid baby who just wanted to be held for hours on end. We were happy to provide her with all the cuddling she needed, but it was a huge relief when her temperature and personality went back to normal.

I got this cookbook a couple weeks ago and have been using it constantly. I’m always on the lookout for fast, healthy meals, particularly those that contain lots of vegetables.

This recipe called for linguine but I think udon makes more sense with the flavors. Plus, peanut sauce is one of my favorite things ever, so I knew I would like this.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:82]

4 Responses to “Udon with Peanut-Hoisin Sauce”


  1. 1 Kate June 7, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    When my guy was sick a couple weeks ago he was a pretty miserable sight. Although he sounded worse than he acted.

  2. 2 Cathryn Ramsden June 8, 2012 at 7:13 am

    Poorly kids are awful – but they are also deliciously snuggly. Is it wrong I secretly enjoy the cuddles? Probably.

    That recipe looks good but I don’t eat Tofu…apart from the obvious, meat, is there any non-soy veggie option I could use?? We’re not vegetarian but I try to use less meat than we used to.

  3. 3 Kelsey June 8, 2012 at 8:35 am

    Poor Ellie! I’m glad she’s back to her sweet self.

  4. 4 janet @ the taste space June 19, 2012 at 10:56 am

    Made this without the hoisin sauce and it was still delicious. Thanks for sharing, Cate! 🙂


Leave a Reply

