Brown Sugar Cupcakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

There’s no crazy like 8th-grade-with-7-days-of-school-left crazy.  These kids are wired.  I wish I could share their enthusiasm, but it’s hard to get excited about summer when it never gets above 65 degrees, and summer means thick fog all day and every day.  I’m soooo over it.

Fortunately, I have friends in sunnier places, and those friends like to throw dessert potlucks.

Or technically, dessert plus taco dip potlucks.  Things like that totally save my sanity.

I agonized over what to make for this little get-together and finally settled on these cupcakes.  They are nice and buttery and make the perfect base for a swirl of cinnamon cream cheese frosting.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:80]

(cupcakes from Joy the Baker/, frosting adapted from Cafe Mom)

6 Responses to “Brown Sugar Cupcakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting”


  1. 1 Joanne May 31, 2012 at 4:17 am

    Dessert potlucks are THE BEST! I love the sound of these cupcakes…anything brown sugar and cinnamony has to be good.

  2. 2 Kate May 31, 2012 at 6:49 am

    I kind of wish I had their energy too.

  3. 3 Sumaiyyah May 31, 2012 at 11:36 am

    It’s the school holidays here in Malaysia. I miss my kids at school, but I plan to enjoy every single minute of vacation (with a lot of baking included).

    Love your blog, Cate! 😀

  4. 4 Lemon May 31, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    Lovely cupcakes. I especially like the frosting, this must be delicious.

  5. 5 Kathy Martin June 5, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    LOVE these little cakes! Really nice light cake taste…great combined with the cream cheese frosting! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  6. 6 Travel Spot June 5, 2012 at 7:33 pm

    Those look good. I think I could just eat the frosting by itself!


Leave a Reply

Twitter

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

