Potato and Tempeh Curry with Cucumber-Ginger Raita

First things first, my husband is an amazingly easy person to cook for.  Pretty much anything I set down in front of him, he’ll eat.  When he asks what’s for dinner and I tell him it’s lentils or chard or vegan or full of nutritional yeast, he generally replies with something along the lines of “cool, sounds good.”

But sometimes, there’s a comment a little like this.

“Um, Cate? I really appreciate that you cook amazing dinners every night.  But is there any way we could maybe have a dinner that doesn’t include kale?”

I have to admit, I did go a little overboard with kale recently.  So I planned a whole week of things I knew he’d love: sandwiches, spinach lasagna, loaded baked sweet potatoes, and curry.  The man LOVES him some curry.

He also loves chocolate chip cookies, and since Tuesday was national chocolate chip cookie day, I finally got around to trying Alton Brown’s “The Chewy

I’m not sure if they were the best chocolate chip cookies ever, but they were VERY good.  I love that the recipe is written with ingredients by weight, because I’m fully obsessed with using my food scale.  I am ready to make another batch!

This curry recipe came from JAMES BEARD AWARD WINNER Heidi Swanson, but I decided to leave the potatoes in chunks, and I added a basic cucumber-ginger-lime raita on the side (I also served it all over quinoa).  Kale-free, Mike-pleasing, and delicious, plus it makes enough for plenty of leftovers for lunch!

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:78]

(adapted from 101 cookbooks)

4 Responses to “Potato and Tempeh Curry with Cucumber-Ginger Raita”


  1. 1 Renee May 17, 2012 at 7:27 am

    COOKIES! They sound and look delicious, and I hope I get to taste them some day soon! 😉

  2. 2 jen May 18, 2012 at 7:22 am

    cute story! the chewy is not my favorite either but it is different and tasty. happy friday!

  3. 3 Kate May 19, 2012 at 4:58 pm

    My husband is the same way with being easy to cook for. But he also gets a little overwhelmed when the same ingredient over and over again.

  4. 4 Jenny May 30, 2012 at 6:43 am

    Mmm, that curry sounds good. I love tempeh, but I struggle to find non-vegetarians who enjoy it too. The cookies look amazing!


Leave a Reply

Twitter

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

