Grilled Cheddar and Apple Sandwiches


My first Mother’s Day was a great one. Breakfast in the city, a new pair of shoes, and a run with my two favorite people, one of whom clearly had the time of her life.

Ellie (okay, fine… Mike) gave me a 12-pack of Gu, which was a little interesting to explain to my kids when they asked me what I got for Mother’s Day. The concept of long-run fueling is kind of foreign to them and they really couldn’t understand why I’d get excited about a box of goo.

Anyway, we had a lot of meals out this weekend, so I was pretty excited to put together a week full of good, homemade dinners.

I pretty much consider Beth my food twin. We definitely have very similar taste, and when she posted this sandwich I knew I would make it. I just didn’t realize it would take me this long.

It’s not exactly the season for apples, but the Fujis at my favorite grocery store are still completely delicious (especially with melted cheddar cheese on sourdough).

I added some sauteed shallots (and Mike added a bunch of HP sauce) and it was fantastic. Thanks (as always) for the inspiration, Beth!

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:77]

11 Responses to “Grilled Cheddar and Apple Sandwiches”


  1. 1 branny May 15, 2012 at 3:41 am

    Happy Mother’s Day, Cate

  2. 2 Kelli @ The Corner Kitchen May 15, 2012 at 6:47 am

    I would be so stoked to get a box of Gu as a gift!

  3. 3 Beth May 15, 2012 at 8:54 am

    yay, food twin! I had this sandwich for dinner last night, too. Which was too weird, since I haven’t had it in months. It’s reliably delicious nearly anytime of the year 🙂 Glad you had a nice mothers’ day!

  4. 4 Travel Spot May 15, 2012 at 8:58 am

    That looks so good! I love pairing cheese and apples! I bet it would also be good with PB and apples. It’s funny that you got Gu for Mother’s Day! I love it. Only a runner could appreciate that!

  5. 5 Michael May 15, 2012 at 10:17 am

    um…we didn’t just get you a box of Gu, we also got you an insulated metal coffee travel mug! Ellie and I aren’t that cheap 😉

  6. 6 PavementRunner May 15, 2012 at 11:19 am

    That looks yummy.

    Happy Mother’s day and sounds like a great way to spend the day. Cheers.

  7. 7 Kate May 15, 2012 at 12:03 pm

    I love apple and cheddar grilled cheese!

  8. 8 Audrey May 15, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    Love grilled cheese anything. Question – what kind of running stroller do you have? I’m planning ahead for this critical purchase!

  9. 9 Angie May 15, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    I love that sandwich. I put red pepper jelly on it too. Love the sweet with the salty!

  10. 10 gina May 16, 2012 at 9:11 am

    I love apple and cheddar grill cheese! and I know this sounds weird, but try it with peanut butter, its amazing.


  1. 1 Apple Cheddar Grilled Cheese « Let's cook! Trackback on May 25, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Leave a Reply

