Sesame Eggplant Stir Fry

So I’m running a marathon on Sunday,  my seventh!  I’m incredibly excited, even though I know there’s pretty much a 0.000032% chance that I’ll PR.  It’s okay, though.  I signed up way back in August when I had no idea what life with a baby would be like, and figured that it was a good goal to have for 7.5 months after having a baby.

On my 5ish mile run yesterday, my legs felt SO fresh and ready to run that it took some serious willpower not to just keep going.  I gotta save it all for the race, though.  I only did one 20-miler this training cycle, so there’s a pretty good chance I’ll crash and burn hard somewhere around mile 22 if I go out even a little bit too fast.

I’ve done a lot of runs on the treadmill lately but the weather has been better the past few days, so I’ve been running outside more.  It’s kind of nice to go from zoning out, staring at a TV playing the news at 5 AM to fresh air and great blue herons in the nice afternoon sun. I’ll take a little more of the latter.

We have a big bag of these little egg noodle nests in the cupboard, which I know are not the healthiest choice, but I love them.  They require a decent amount of oil to avoid turning into a giant yellow clump, so I don’t cook with them too often, but when I do, I try to add a lot of vegetables so there’s at least something  a little healthy going on. We’ve had a bunch of broccoli stalks sitting in the produce drawer for a couple weeks, and I’ve been promising Mike I’d use them and wooohoooo I actually did.  Finally.  I also roasted an eggplant, fried some tofu and sliced up a red pepper, so there was a pretty nice variety of flavors and textures.

Ellie and Mike impatiently watched my pre-dinner photo shoot.

Ellie REALLY wanted to try some of this, but she’s still doing mostly purees at this point.  They’re exciting purees, though! Red lentils with tomato and coriander, carrots with dill, and cauliflower with cumin – and she loves them all.  But she still was very intrigued by our food.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:71]

7 Responses to “Sesame Eggplant Stir Fry”


  1. 1 Shannon April 25, 2012 at 4:51 am

    Do you have a baby puree recipe book you use for Ellie? I just started making purees for my 6m-old twins, but just single fruit or veggie ones.

  2. 2 Cate April 25, 2012 at 6:01 am

    I started with this one, which I really like: http://www.amazon.com/Cooking-Baby-Wholesome-Homemade-Delicious/dp/1416599185
    I’ve branched out a little bit from there and now a lot of what I do, I just make up as I go. That book has lots of good recipes, though!

  3. 3 Kate April 25, 2012 at 8:31 am

    I have no doubt you’ll rock this marathon just as you have every other post-baby race.

  4. 4 Audrey April 25, 2012 at 10:50 am

    This looks delicious! Good luck at Big Sur this weekend!

  5. 5 Beth April 25, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    And again, like a broken record, I say that Ellie is the cutest baby ever. 🙂 Good luck at Big Sur!

  6. 6 Sarah April 25, 2012 at 1:47 pm

    I need Ellie’s outfit! That dress is so cute. Oh, and the food looks awesome too.

  7. 7 Angela April 25, 2012 at 11:05 pm

    Best of luck to you on Sunday! 😀


Leave a Reply

