Chard with Harissa, Hazelnuts, and Eggs

On Saturday, Ellie helped me dye some eggs.

I was really excited to using natural colors from red cabbage, turmeric, and beets, but the result was VERY pale eggs, so we ended up using the fizzy tablets from a kit we bought two years ago but never used. After moving twice and bringing it with us both times, it was good to finally use it.

Then we put her in her Easter dress and had a photo shoot in the front yard.

I think she likes dressing up.

We had the most relaxing Easter ever. I woke up and ran six miles, we hung out around the house all day, took a walk before dinner, and then I made this because it uses up hard-boiled eggs (I know I’m not the only person who has tons of those lying around right now).

Originally the recipe called for spinach and slivered almonds, but I swapped those out for chard and hazelnuts. I think it would be delicious either way, but I absolutely loved the strong flavor the hazelnuts added. I served it over quinoa with a little fresh mint and preserved lemon stirred in…definitely a filling and delicious dinner.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:67]
(adapted from Super Natural Every Day)

6 Responses to “Chard with Harissa, Hazelnuts, and Eggs”


  1. 1 Noelle (@singerinkitchen) April 9, 2012 at 7:36 am

    Beautiful pictures. This meal also looks so filling and delicious~!

  2. 2 Kelsey April 9, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    I love your recipes like this one and I LOVE Ellie’s Easter dress. The polka dots are just too adorable!

  3. 3 Krystal @ {Mrs. Regueiro's Plate} April 9, 2012 at 2:52 pm

    Eeeks, do you know that I’m in love with everything polka dot? I love Ellie’s dress and this delicious dish! Sounds fantastic!

  4. 4 Kate April 10, 2012 at 8:04 am

    We tried using natural dyes last year – the tumeric was the only one that got really vibrant.

  5. 5 elly April 10, 2012 at 12:21 pm

    Love this dish – it sounds like something we would love for sure. Also, how cute is Ellie? Seriously, every time I think she can’t get any cuter, she does!

  6. 6 Josie April 11, 2012 at 11:41 am

    Love Ellie’s dress!! Seriously, could she be any cuter?


Leave a Reply

