Kale and White Bean Pasta

I don’t think I ever ate kale when I was growing up, but I ADORE it now.  Raw in salad or smoothies, cooked with pasta or in soup, it’s great.  Lets not kid ourselves, though.  If given a choice between a plate of kale or a brownie, I’ll probably take the brownie.  But when I’m going for healthy, kale is near the top of my list.

Also, I’ve been pondering lately.  Which is worse, a blogger who posts too many pictures of herself, or too many pictures of her baby?  Because I feel I’m dangerously close to too-many-pictures-of-the-baby territory.  But I guess that’s better than a million pictures of me, right?  Or I could always go back to just pictures of the food like I did in the early days, but that wasn’t very much fun, so hey, here’s another picture of Ellie!

She’s wearing the hat I made for her this weekend from this pattern. Cables are fun.

The giant wall of pasta at my favorite grocery store has SO much good stuff. This week we picked up some really cool-shaped farro pasta.

I browned some onions, added garlic, white beans, kale, raisins, and pine nuts, then tossed it all with the pasta and a generous sprinkle of grated parmesan.

And in case two days of kale in a row is too healthy for you, I have some awesome cookies ready to share next!

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:65]

11 Responses to “Kale and White Bean Pasta”


  1. 1 Kierstan @ Life {and running} in Iowa April 3, 2012 at 5:39 am

    This pasta looks great – and I am totally cooking a batch of white beans now, so this very well might be lunch today.

  2. 2 Aron April 3, 2012 at 7:10 am

    I personally think there can’t be too many pictures of Ellie 😉

  3. 3 Laura April 3, 2012 at 7:49 am

    DON’T stop posting pics of your sweet girl, she’s too cute. I love the pictures of her almost as much as I love your recipes!

  4. 4 Alyssa April 3, 2012 at 8:55 am

    Too many pics of Ellie will never be enough!! (So excited for Friday’s rager!)

  5. 5 Emily Malone April 3, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    Oh I am so way beyond the too-many-pictures-of-baby limit, but I just can’t stop. She is so ridiculously cute, and Cullen is now jealous that his mom is not crafty or skilled enough to make him cool hats.

  6. 6 Kate April 4, 2012 at 7:11 am

    Is it weird that I might actually pick kale over a brownie?

  7. 7 Jena April 4, 2012 at 3:58 pm

    I marked this in my fave recipes! Looks yummy!

    I’m positive that you are no where near the limit of to many baby pictures! Ellie is one of the most beautiful little girls I’ve seen in a long time. I don’t plan on having my own kids, but I don’t mind millions of pictures of other peoples cute babies

  8. 8 RoadBunner April 4, 2012 at 7:24 pm

    Ahh! Your hat turned out awesome!

  9. 9 Kelsey April 5, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    I love the ingredients in this recipe almost as much as I love Ellie in that hat!

  10. 10 Kathy April 6, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    I agree – there’s no such thing as too many pictures of Ellie. I was just telling my husband about “this blogger who has one of the cutest babies ever.” She’s frickin’ adorable!

  11. 11 ErinsFoodFiles April 27, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    This sounds really delicious! And there can never be too many Ellie pictures!!


Leave a Reply

