Chard, Potato, and Taleggio Pizza

This weekend didn’t go as it was supposed to.  Saturday morning was supposed to be a long run with friends, but there’s been no running for me lately.   I have now taken 8 days off but my hip doesn’t feel much better.   Am I freaking out about the fact that I have a half marathon in less than two weeks and a full marathon in 6? Kind of, yes.  But there will be other races if those don’t happen.

Sunday was supposed to be knitting (and eating cookies) with friends, but it was actually spent on the couch thanks to a lovely stomach flu.  The weekend wasn’t all bad, though.

On Friday night we followed up our pizza with Tuscaloosa Tollhouse Pie from Baked: New Frontiers in Baking.

It’s full of chocolate chips and toasted walnuts (I added some pecans, too) with a splash of bourbon. It was gone within 24 hours.

Saturday I went to spin class (the only thing that saves my sanity when I can’t run), then we went with Mike’s parents to Tartine for some bread and cheese sandwiches.

Mike got Humboldt Fog Goat Cheese on Walnut Bread and I got Membrillo with Quince Jam on regular bread.

Delicious.
Even though she didn’t get to eat any amazing sandwiches, Ellie had fun.

This pizza is inspired by a combination I saw in Tender by Nigel Slater. I adore this book. His recipe was for chard and potato cakes with taleggio. I roasted some thinly sliced red potatoes, sauteed chopped rainbow chard with garlic, and put those on a whole wheat pizza crust lightly brushed with olive oil. Then I dotted the whole thing with pieces of taleggio, which melted into everything.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:59]

7 Responses to “Chard, Potato, and Taleggio Pizza”


  1. 1 Naomi March 12, 2012 at 7:13 am

    You were missed yesterday, which only means we need to schedule another one again very soon! Such a bummer about your hip – hope to starts to feel better soon. Fingers crossed!

  2. 2 K March 12, 2012 at 9:29 am

    Sorry to hear about your injury! Membrillo is quince paste…perhaps you mean manchego? 🙂

  3. 4 Kate March 13, 2012 at 8:33 am

    I hope your hip improves really soon!

  4. 5 gia March 13, 2012 at 11:07 am

    I hurt my hip from running and not doing enough cross training. My physical therapist has me doing side leg lifts as a key muscle builder for my hip. I do them everyday and have seen a lot of improvement. FYI

  5. 6 elly March 14, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    Ellie is seriously one of the cutest babies ever! This pizza looks great. I’ve been meaning to try a potato pizza for a while, but I haven’t really found one that looks awesome. This one does, though. I love the taleggio. I don’t get to eat that often enough!

  6. 7 nat@thesweetslife March 15, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    could you have a cuter baby?!?!! i think not! 🙂


Leave a Reply

