Vanilla Latte Cupcakes

It’s Friday! Have a cupcake.

I actually made these a few weeks ago, but I really wish I could be eating one right now. These days, I’m not drinking much coffee. Okay, kind of a lie. I’m not drinking much caffeinated coffee.

But I made an exception for the coffee in these.

I’d like to take a minute and show off my new favorite grocery store, Rainbow Grocery (and I promise this does tie in with these cupcakes…wait for it).

First of all, you can get pretty much ANYTHING in bulk. Any dried fruit you may want:

A billion kinds of legumes, including a bunch of beans I have never heard of but now am obsessed with finding recipes for so I can buy them because they’re so pretty.

More kinds of rice than I ever knew existed.

And then there’s the chocolate-covered section. It’s a dangerous place. However, the beauty of it is you can buy the exact number of chocolate-covered espresso beans you need for these cupcakes, so you won’t eat a ton of leftovers and get your baby so caffeinated she doesn’t sleep.

Another perk? They give you 5 cents off for every single container you bring! We usually get at least a dollar off every visit!

Anyway, cupcakes. I feel that there are two camps when frosting is concerned. There’s the “dainty not-too-sweet meringue buttercream” camp, and then there’s the “extra sweet is extra good” camp. I fall into the latter, so I made a basic powdered sugar and butter frosting that, yes, is very sweet (just how I like it). If you’re more of a Swiss Meringue Buttercream fan, follow Josie’s lead.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:58]

(adapted from Cupcake Bakeshop via Pink Parsley)

9 Responses to “Vanilla Latte Cupcakes”


  1. 2 Megan (Running Foodie) March 9, 2012 at 7:46 am

    I’m giving up dairy for the next 2 weeks as part of an experiment with my students, but once that is over, I am making these immediately!

  2. 3 Angela March 9, 2012 at 10:04 am

    Love Rainbow Grocery! I can’t believe I lived in the mission for nearly three years before I knew it was there. The bulk section is awesome.

  3. 4 Jen March 9, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    The grocery store looks like heaven lol. I would probably be tempted to buy everything haha.

  4. 5 Kate March 10, 2012 at 1:39 am

    Just so you know – I don’t think I can get my cupcake fix from just seeing them online. I’m going to have to taste one of these.

  5. 6 Kristine March 10, 2012 at 7:48 am

    I totally agree with you about the frosting- I’m also a sweet frosting kind of girl. I made these same cupcakes a few weeks ago and tried a swiss meringue buttercream for the first time. While it was good, I do prefer a regular buttercream (plus it’s easier, too!).

  6. 7 Kristen March 10, 2012 at 8:48 am

    Love your blog. How do you get your frosting so fluffy and whipped? I tried a previous recipe and mine was really runny:(

    • 8 Cate March 10, 2012 at 7:28 pm

      Kristen – I add the milk just a little bit at a time and stop as soon as it gets to a spreadable consistency (I use the paddle attachment on my stand mixer)

  7. 9 Josie March 14, 2012 at 8:06 am

    I love these cupcakes so much. And I wish I could eat one (or five) right now. And I’m totally jealous of your grocery store – it looks seriously fantastic!


Leave a Reply

Twitter

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

