Quinoa and Black Bean Salad


Remember how I was going to be really smart as I was getting back into running shape? And I’d never increase my mileage or intensity too quickly and I wouldn’t get injured?

Weeeelllll, I may have sort have overdone it just a little bit, and my right hip has been pretty cranky the last couple days. Fortunately there’s no way my hip will break because there are 3 titanium screws holding it together, but the pain in my hip flexor is not pleasant.

So I’ve decided to take a couple days off running. That means 5 AM spin classes and Jillian Michaels 6 Week Six-Pack for a little while, which is not my first choice, but I REALLY don’t want to miss any of the races I’ve signed up for.

Since I’ve been getting my workouts done at ridiculous pre-dawn hours, it leaves more afternoon time for baking. I made these crunchy-top orange chocolate chip muffins, and I’m not sure if I just completely spaced it or if there was a problem with the recipe but instead of crunchy-top I got melted-sugar-mess-top.

HOWEVER, the muffins themselves were super delicious, if you’re into the orange-chocolate combo. They’re very rich, but the flavor is amazing (especially if you sub semi-sweet chocolate chips for milk chocolate.)

Ellie was hanging out while I baked and at one point the light was so perfect I grabbed my camera and went just a little bit picture crazy.

I love this girl so much, it’s kind of unreal.

When you get into the afternoon baking habit, it’s quite helpful to simultaneously get into the healthy dinner habit, and this recipe can help you out with that. It’s kind of similar to this other black bean and quinoa salad but the fresh mozzarella is a nice addition (and the dressing is a little different). I served it over a bed of butter lettuce for dinner and packed the leftovers (without the lettuce) for lunch. It’s great both ways!

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:57]

(adapted from Apple a Day)

6 Responses to “Quinoa and Black Bean Salad”


  1. 1 Kate March 7, 2012 at 5:02 am

    The first picture of Ellie may be my favorite ever.

  2. 2 Kettty March 7, 2012 at 5:29 am

    Love the pictures of Ellie! As a mom of a 3 month old, I am with you about how much we love our girl. So unreal 🙂

  3. 3 The Healthy Hostess March 7, 2012 at 8:11 am

    I LOVE those pictures! She is so adorable! 🙂
    The salad looks great too – not as cute but Ellie is hard to beat. I need a good quinoa salad in my life this week. Thanks for the idea!

  4. 4 Page March 7, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    Can you please enter her into some baby modeling contest? She’d win hands down!

  5. 5 Kathy March 9, 2012 at 6:02 pm

    Those pics of your daughter are absolutely ADORABLE. She is really, really cute. I’ve been wanting to try quinoa again for some time – thanks for the recipe.

  6. 6 ErinsFoodFiles March 13, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    This salad looks right up my alley. And MEGA CUTE BABY!!!


Leave a Reply

Twitter

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

