Cupcakes with Mango Buttercream

I cannot believe how many of my food blogging friends are having babies this year! Today a huge group of us are celebrating Krystal’s baby, who is on his or her way (nobody will know until it gets here!) in 10 weeks.

I met Krystal at Foodbuzz Festival in November and she’s awesome. We sat together at the Friday night dinner and she is hilarious and sweet.

(photo from Jessica)

Since Krystal is Filipino and her husband, Eric is Cuban, we all made a dish inspired by one of those cuisines. I chose to go in the Filipino direction, and since some of the best mangoes in the world come from the Philippines, I made mango cupcakes.

Unfortunately, the cupcake recipe I used was fairly disappointing, but the mango buttercream was great. So I would recommend making your favorite white or yellow cupcakes and frosting them with this. If I ever find mango extract, I’ll probably try them again, but I think the take-home lesson here is: when things go wrong, eat frosting!

Krystal and Eric, I’m so excited for you to meet Cookie in about 9 weeks; you’re going to be great parents!

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:55]

8 Responses to “Cupcakes with Mango Buttercream”


  1. 1 Blog is the New Black March 5, 2012 at 2:36 am

    YUM! This mango buttercream sounds incredible!

  2. 2 Kate March 5, 2012 at 2:37 am

    Mango buttercream sounds to die for.

  3. 3 Cathy March 5, 2012 at 6:41 am

    ooooh, hubby is a mango fanatic, he would love this!

  4. 4 Krystal @ {Mrs. Regueiro's Plate} March 5, 2012 at 10:46 am

    Mango buttercream is where it’s AT!!!!!!! Mmmm, and I’m on this mango-kick right now, so I know that I’d eat the frosting right out of the bowl before putting them on a cupcake! I can’t wait to try this sweet concoction up! Thanks for the sweet post and participating in my virtual shower!
    XXOO!

  5. 5 Kelsey March 5, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    Cate, these look so great. I’m sorry the cupcakes didn’t turn out the way you wanted, but the frosting sounds divine. I’m thinking I may put it on top of some key lime cupcakes this summer.

  6. 6 Jessica of My Baking Heart March 5, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    These look amazing, Cate! Will definitely be trying this mango buttercream SOON! πŸ™‚

  7. 7 Nikki March 5, 2012 at 12:44 pm

    I’m so glad to have a new cupcake frosting recipe, that is light and refreshing! Sounds fabulous!

  8. 8 Jessica @ Sunny Side Up March 5, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    Wow, mango buttercream sounds really really good! It’s a bummer the cupcake recipe didn’t turn out, but sometimes I think it’s perfectly OK to just eat buttercream with a spoon. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

