Chocolate and Cherry Scones

First things first, it’s Pizza Friday! This was last week’s pizza, but it was a good one. Roasted eggplant, roasted red peppers, feta and mozzarella over pizza sauce.

I’m trying a new combination tonight, and if it’s good it will be on the blog in the next couple days.

It’s been a pretty domestic week around here.  I did some laundry, cleaned some counters, and got re-acquainted with my pastry blender.

I also ate way too many Girl Scout cookies, but I don’t wish to discuss that at this time.

I spent lots of time in the kitchen with my little helper.

She was of great assistance while making these scones, which, by the way, are actually kind of a scone-biscuit hybrid. They’re a little softer and less crumbly than scones, and they’re awesome.

My preferred scone-shaping method is the one I learned while working at a bakery. You pat the dough into a circle and cut it into 8 wedges. These were HUGE, though, so you might want to make two circles. Or, you could use a biscuit cutter (that’s what Joy did.) Either way, they’ll come out of the oven delicious.
[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:52]

(adapted from Joy the Baker)

5 Responses to “Chocolate and Cherry Scones”


  1. 1 Blog is the New Black February 24, 2012 at 2:54 am

    These scones look wonderful! I love the cherry/choc combo!

  2. 2 Kate February 24, 2012 at 2:55 am

    I’m so glad you included your scone shaping method because as soon as I saw the first picture I thought “Wow, Cate’s scones look perfect – I wonder if she has a scone pan?”

    And how did I not know you worked in a bakery. Was that in Portland or SLO?

  3. 3 Cate February 24, 2012 at 9:06 am

    In SLO, while I was in school getting my teaching credential.

  4. 4 Jen February 24, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    chocolate/cherry is such a good combo. i love scones! pizza is one of my very favorite foods. can’t wait to see your new combo! happy weekend.

  5. 5 Kelsey March 1, 2012 at 9:50 am

    Oh my goodness. I love this picture of Ellie!


Leave a Reply

