Chocolate-Almond-Coconut Cupcakes


Oh look, more running and more cupcakes!

I kicked off Big Sur Marathon training with a 15.27 mile run on Sunday. I spent a lot of the run in Golden Gate Park, thinking with every step how grateful I am to have this amazing place to run just a few miles from my house.

I kept it nice and easy, finishing in 2:18 (9:03 min/mile).

I know Easter’s not for awhile, but it’s not too early to start thinking about dessert! Oh! Nuts offered to send me some Jordan almonds to use in a baked good or craft, and I immediately envisioned cupcakes with Jordan almonds for decoration.

These have chocolate, almond meal, and coconut inside, with fluffy white frosting, toasted coconut, and Jordan almonds on top. Hard to go wrong with that combination!

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:50]

(from Epicurious)

6 Responses to “Chocolate-Almond-Coconut Cupcakes”


  1. 2 Audrey February 21, 2012 at 10:13 am

    Oh how I miss running in the park. I lived just a block off of the Arguello entrance and it was so easy to do a long run with a nice mix of surfaces and hills.

  2. 4 Courtney @ The Granola Chronicles February 21, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    Number one: you freakin’ rock when it comes to running (ok, you just rock in general).

    Number two: those cupcakes! LOVE.

    Number three: when can we see each other again?

  3. 5 Kate February 22, 2012 at 3:45 am

    This is a fabulous Easter dessert! It’s never too early to start thinking. Those holidays certainly sneak up on you.

  4. 6 Naomi February 23, 2012 at 5:09 pm

    I love chocolate, and almonds and coconut so this looks so YUM!

    What route of trails did you take in GGP? I’m trying to map out my route for Sunday.


Leave a Reply

