Mole Enchiladas with Kale and Squash


I hope you had a great Valentines Day! Mine was nice and low-key and perfect.
Because I love my students, I bought them some treats. And ate waaaay too many of them myself. (That, on top of the cupcakes a couple of students brought meant I was completely over-sugared all day long).

Mike, Ellie and I went for an awesome 5ish mile run after work (which went surprisingly well considering the sugar overload from the preceding several hours). Ellie kind of started to freak out in the stroller, which meant the last mile was a LOT faster than we planned on!

Back at home, I gave Mike a homemade card, which has kind of become a tradition. I have the card-making skills of a 9-year-old boy, but he appreciates the thought.

In case you didn’t completely overdose on chocolate yesterday, here’s a chance to sneak some more into your dinner! I haven’t made mole sauce in years because I thought it was too labor intensive. It turns out it’s really not that bad, especially if you make it the day or two before you plan on using it (it keeps really well in the fridge, and then you just need to thin it with a little broth).

If you get all your ingredients ready to go before you start cooking, it goes pretty fast, and then you have a whole bunch of absolutely delicious sauce to make enchiladas with, or drizzle over roasted squash, or dip chips in… there are so many options!

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:49]

(adapted from Veganomicon)

5 Responses to “Mole Enchiladas with Kale and Squash”


  1. 1 Allison February 15, 2012 at 7:39 am

    This looks absolutely delicious! I see that you mention peanut butter in step 5, though, and I don’t see the amount anywhere on the ingredients list. How much peanut butter does the recipe call for?

  2. 2 Cate February 15, 2012 at 7:59 am

    Yikes, my proof-reading skills are severely lacking these days! I fixed the recipe – it’s 2 tbsp (thanks for catching that!)

  3. 3 Kelsey February 15, 2012 at 11:20 am

    Cate, it sounds like a wonderful Valentine’s Day. This recipe just looks perfect. I adore mole sauce. Poured over squash and kale? Heavenly!

  4. 4 Allison February 15, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    Thank you, Cate! Can’t wait to make the mole sauce. I love your blog, I’ve been reading for over a year now. And baby Ellie is so stinkin’ cute, I can’t even handle it!

  5. 5 Kate February 16, 2012 at 2:43 am

    I think it’s cute the three of you run together! And I know ALL about stroller meltdowns. It’s why we keep a carrier in the stroller.


Leave a Reply

