Cajun Tempeh with Grits

Yesterday our not-so-little baby turned 5 months old.

<Insert every known cliche about how they grow up too fast>

We celebrated with a four and a half mile family run, which was the first time Ellie rode in the BOB without the infant insert.  It was SO much easier without it (I think because it was much lighter and had a lower center of gravity).  She obviously found it quite exhilirating.

Other highlights included a birthday celebration in Sacramento, a shopping trip at one of my favorite grocery stores (Berkeley Bowl!), and Chinese food and soft serve with some friends.  Ellie was awesome through it all.

Mike and I have become off the deep end obsessed with bulk bins, and one of my current favorites is polenta.

Polenta with tempeh on it is not a new thing around here (see mustard-glazed tempeh), and it’s definitely going to be making an appearance again.  I guess technically there is a difference between grits and polenta, but I’m going to refer to these as grits.

I always feel kind of guilty when I un-veganize recipes, but all we had in the house was whole milk, which I’ve been pretty fond of lately.  It makes the grits amazingly creamy.  The sauteed leeks with garlic add a nice pop of flavor and color.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:47]

(adapted from Vegan Soul Kitchen by Bryant Terry

2 Responses to “Cajun Tempeh with Grits”


  1. 1 Jen February 13, 2012 at 5:11 am

    i like the tempeh/grits combination idea. i am definitely going to do some sort of spin on that this week.

    happy five months to ellie. i swear, she gets cuter every time you post a new picture. how is that possible!? 🙂

  2. 2 Kate February 14, 2012 at 4:04 am

    I’m a fan of both polenta AND grits


Leave a Reply

Twitter

  • Lovett or Leave It: my new favorite podcast. Waiting til the weekend is even harder now 6 days ago
  • I've apparently become a person who spends her weekend doing yard work 😬 1 week ago
  • Apparently when you buy a house your parents decide it's finally time to give you all your papers from high school 1 week ago

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

