Oatmeal Raisin Whoopie Pies


Ellie’s rapidly closing in on five months old and there have been some big changes!

We quit swaddling her cold turkey and so far things are going great. We also got the OK from her pediatrician to introduce solid food, and we decided to start with bananas.

After a little bit of assistance with the spoon, she was ready to try it herself.

Success! (Kind of…)

I think this weekend we may move on to sweet potatoes!

I’ve been baking a lot lately, and as always I’m thankful for Mike’s office and my work both being so willing to take baked goods off our hands. In case you’re here because I occasionally make healthy things, I do have to recommend this salad, or more specifically, the dressing, which I now want to put on everything

Proceed directly to Shutterbean for the recipe!

I wanted oatmeal raisin cookies the other day, but I decided to branch out a little bit. These aren’t as cakey as normal whoopie pies (the ground up oats make them a little denser) and they have cream cheese frosting inside. Maybe it makes more sense to call them oatmeal raisin sandwich cookies. But whatever you call them, they’re good! I mean, can you really go wrong when cream cheese frosting is involved?

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:46]
(adapted from Whoopie Pies)

9 Responses to “Oatmeal Raisin Whoopie Pies”


  1. 1 Renee February 9, 2012 at 5:22 am

    Both look good, but the link to the salad dressing doesn’t work.

  2. 2 Jen February 9, 2012 at 6:22 am

    ellie is so adorable.

    the whoopie pies look amazing. i love oatmeal raisin.

  3. 3 Cate February 9, 2012 at 7:56 am

    Sorry about the link! It’s fixed now.

  4. 4 Kate February 9, 2012 at 8:31 am

    I’m sure she’ll figure out where her mouth is eventually!

  5. 5 jena February 9, 2012 at 10:13 am

    OMG Ellie is SO adorable! She has the sweetest little face!

    I think I’m going to make those cookies & take them to my running group for our Saturday social hour! Mmm, they look delicious!

  6. 6 Heidi from BundlesOfHugs February 10, 2012 at 9:43 am

    aww, she is growing so fast! adorable. salad and whoopie pies look delicious!

  7. 7 Ellen February 10, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    How much flour did you use in the cookies? I got half way through prep and didn’t see the flour amount!


Leave a Reply

