Pecan Praline-Topped Brownies


I’m not going to say these make you run faster, but I made them last night and then had pretty much the best tempo run ever today.

I guess it could have been the weather (50 and raining…just like home!). Or it could have been my new shoes.

Sorry, they’re a little dirty. I always hated Brooks, but when we were running shoe shopping a couple weeks ago I decided to try them. Going in I was pretty sure I wanted Newtons, but I liked these SO much more (and in the interest of full disclosure, I bought them with my own money and Brooks has no idea I’m writing about them). They’re light and feel just cushioned enough. I normally run in Asics 2170s, but these have become my shoe of choice.

Anyway, the run. I started out with a mile warm-up, then picked it up for three miles, which I ran in 6:53, 6:43, and 6:34 (whaaat?). I don’t think I’ve ever run that fast in a tempo run, and since my 5K PR is 6:51 minutes/mile I think there’s a good chance I’m in PR shape. We’ll see…I may be making an attempt this Sunday.

Lately I feel like I haven’t been baking as often as I want to, so in addition to planning my weekly dinners, I’ve been planning for a couple baked goods every week too. First up was Black Bread (um, Heidi’s pictures are about a million times better than mine).

Rye bread with carrots in it is actually pretty good, who knew?

My sister gave me The Pastry Queen cookbook for Christmas and these brownies looked completely amazing. As my mom would say, they’re so sweet they’ll make your teeth curl, but to me that’s kind of a good thing.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:38]

8 Responses to “Pecan Praline-Topped Brownies”


  1. 1 Kate January 20, 2012 at 3:36 am

    It’s definitely the shoes – I always run faster in new shoes.

  2. 3 Billie January 20, 2012 at 5:49 am

    YUMMY!!!!! Awesome tempo run. I’m hoping mine go that well when I finally start them next week :-).

  3. 4 natalie (the sweets life) January 20, 2012 at 10:17 am

    you are so stinking fast! wish i could run with you and you could push me 🙂

    we’ve had texas sheet cake in our house this week that i’ve been taking advantage of to fuel my runs 😉

  4. 5 Aron January 20, 2012 at 11:03 am

    Brooks were my very first running shoes, then I switched to Asics (Kayano 14 then 15 then 2150) then went back to Brooks this past year and LOVE them. I am in the Adrenalines, but am going to have to try these on too 🙂 those look fassst! And UM HELLO your tempo run was blazing!!!!!!!

  5. 6 Kimra January 20, 2012 at 6:07 pm

    I loooove those shoes! I usually run in Adrenalines, so they feel familiar but also SO light and SO smooth. They’re a bit less support than I’m used to so I haven’t run very far in them yet, but they are my favorite recovery run shoes by far.

  6. 7 elly January 23, 2012 at 6:07 am

    Mmm, these look awesome. I love praline anything. I am a terrible runner, so maybe I should try them. 🙂


  1. 1 Pecan Praline Brownies Trackback on January 17, 2013 at 1:26 pm

Leave a Reply

Twitter

  • Lovett or Leave It: my new favorite podcast. Waiting til the weekend is even harder now 6 days ago
  • I've apparently become a person who spends her weekend doing yard work 😬 1 week ago
  • Apparently when you buy a house your parents decide it's finally time to give you all your papers from high school 1 week ago

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

