Tortellini and Kale Soup


There are a million things to love about San Francisco, but this is one of my favorites:

We’re members, and this weekend, we gave Ellie her first science museum experience. Our first stop was the living roof, which is covered with native plants and absorbs 98% of the water that falls on it!

Next, we walked through the rainforest exhibit, which felt like Hawaii and had lots of birds and butterflies.

Ellie slept through the whole thing.
But she woke up when we got to the aquarium!

SO many cool fish!

And jellyfish.

The only disappointment was the penguin exhibit, which is usually my favorite. The penguins were all just kind of flopped around on the rocks, not doing anything. I guess we’ll have to go back very soon (this weekend, maybe?)

One thing I like almost as much as science museums is soup (worst tie-in ever? Oh well). This soup has it all – healthy beans and grains, cheesy pasta, and a spicy, fragrant tomato broth. The small changes I made to the original recipe were to reduce the liquid (I like my soups kind of stew-like), replace herbes de Provence with dried oregano and basil, and use kale instead of chard. It’s perfect comfort food!
[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:33]
(adapted from Elly Says Opa)

11 Responses to “Tortellini and Kale Soup”


  1. 1 Allison [Girl's Guide to Social Media] January 10, 2012 at 6:04 am

    This soup looks great. I am a huge fan of hearty yet healthy soups and this is one of them. I cannot wait to try it. Thanks!

  2. 2 Kate January 10, 2012 at 6:53 am

    I haven’t been to the Academy of Sciences since it first opened!

  3. 3 Krystal @ {Mrs. Regueiro's Plate} January 10, 2012 at 9:23 am

    Awww, what a fun activity! I love the photo of the two of you…so cute!! Plus, this soup looks great – great way to lead it in from your story. I still laughed. πŸ˜‰

  4. 4 Emily Malone January 10, 2012 at 9:26 am

    You look like such a happy mom. πŸ™‚

  5. 5 Beth January 10, 2012 at 10:21 am

    That picture of you and Ellie is adorable, and the soup looks delicious. I love tortellini in soup, and kale is still my green of choice since our kale plants are going strong. It’s been months now and there are still tons of kale leaves to choose from every day outside.

  6. 6 Aron January 10, 2012 at 3:21 pm

    When Chris was in contstruction his company worked on the AOS and we got to go to the VIP opening before everything was open and before it was open to the public – it was so fun!

    I have been in such a soup mood lately and that one sounds right up my alley… yum.

  7. 7 Krysten January 10, 2012 at 7:23 pm

    CA Academy is a Curtis household favorite!! That pic of you and Ellie is adorable and the soup looks delish. πŸ™‚

  8. 8 Courtney (Pancakes and Postcards) January 11, 2012 at 10:04 pm

    i have the app on my phone that’s attached to the penguin cam. so you can watch them 24/7. i assume at SOME point they do something funny. πŸ™‚

    Also – you have popup surveys on your page? is that blogher?? i just got a “one second site survey” – weird!

  9. 9 Cate January 14, 2012 at 6:20 am

    I just got the app! I thought I checked “no pop-ups” on my blogher preferences page – I’ll have to go back and look.

  10. 10 Melanie January 20, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    I made this tonight, and it was fantastic! Can’t wait for leftovers tomorrow.


  1. 1 Tortellini and Kale Soup « That Pink House Trackback on April 19, 2012 at 11:19 am

Leave a Reply

