Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Snack Cake with Coconut Topping

Weekends are so much better now that I’m back at work.  I appreciate them about a million times more than I did when every day was pretty much the same.  Obviously it was great having Mike home all day on the weekends, but now there’s even more of a focus for both of us on spending quality time with Ellie.

There’s more time for enjoying tea, which has become my new Friday night beverage of choice.

I did end up having a beer after this, but I couldn’t even finish it because I fell asleep on the couch at 8:30.  Oh parenthood, you do crazy things to people.

There’s more time to savor the view out of Ellie’s window as the sun is coming up.  I was never really big on sleeping in, so this getting up before the sun comes up thing actually isn’t too much of a life change.

And more time for BAKING!  When I was driving home from work yesterday I had pretty much made up my mind that I was going to bake oatmeal chocolate chip cookies.  But then I realized I’ve done that too many times, and I had plenty of time to bake something new.  Oatmeal snack cake seemed like a good idea, but adding chocolate chips was essential.  For some people, this is probably too indulgent for breakfast or snack, but it makes a great casual dessert!

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:32]
(adapted from The Bitten Word)

4 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Snack Cake with Coconut Topping”


  1. 1 Courtney @ The Granola Chronicles January 7, 2012 at 9:36 am

    STOP IT. This sounds and looks absolutely amazing. Although anything with coconut is a win in my book!

  2. 2 Chris January 7, 2012 at 6:14 pm

    great find on this recipe. made it today. moist and flavorful. see how well half of it freezes.

    i like parchment paper as opposed to the aluminum/spray combo. nice and easy with none of the spray stuff enveloping my baked good.

  3. 3 Kate January 8, 2012 at 5:11 am

    Weekends have been becoming my baking time too! Except I went with a pie instead of a snack cake.

  4. 4 natalie (the sweets life) January 9, 2012 at 1:52 pm

    yum! not going to lie, i would definitely eat this for breakfast!


Leave a Reply

