Soba and Kale Salad


I’ve reached the sugar-saturation point in the holiday season. The last week has been intensely cookie-and candy-filled, and now I want nothing more than vegetables, and tons of them.

I didn’t eat all of those, but I came close.

We had a couple holiday parties this weekend, and since my parents were in town, we were able to go out just the two of us for only the second time EVER!

I celebrated the occasion by curling my hair… I don’t even remember the last time that happened. I also made some chocolate-dipped pretzels to take to the party. So easy and so festive!

I really, really love my new lens.

Anyway, to counteract the insane amounts of sugar I’ve been living on the past few days, I made this salad. Twice. It was such a hit with my parents on Friday for lunch that I made it again for dinner on Saturday. I love it most after it’s had a few hours to chill in the refrigerator.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:25]

16 Responses to “Soba and Kale Salad”


  1. 1 Beth December 19, 2011 at 10:16 am

    must. detox. from. cookies. I’m eating kale and Christmas lima beans for dinner tonight (still in the holiday spirit!) This salad looks delicious though, and again I feel compelled to ask if I can live in your kitchen 🙂

  2. 2 Alyssa December 19, 2011 at 10:31 am

    I am so glad we got to hang out so much this weekend! And yes, I am starting my detox right now!!!! (After I finish this chocolate covered pretzels.)

  3. 3 Kelli @ The Corner Kitchen December 19, 2011 at 11:14 am

    I need a break from cookies asap!! I’m craving greens like crazy, and this salad sounds so tasty!!

  4. 4 Kate December 20, 2011 at 5:36 am

    I think I’m making my only holiday cookies today!

  5. 5 Dianne December 20, 2011 at 6:40 am

    What is Bragg’s liquid aminos?????

  6. 7 Page December 20, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    Oh man, I need to work on the lighting of the photos I take of you! Send some of those veggies my way!

  7. 8 Katie December 20, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    Hello Cate:

    I have never before cooked a vegan meal, but I am having a guest over that is vegan. Is this salad hearty? My concern is that she may feel like she is getting “short changed” while the rest of my guests have a heartier dish. The remaining guests are heavy red meat eaters. Additionally, this is a cold dish whereas the other dishes will be hot and feel more like a “traditional” entree course. Any thoughts you have would be appreciated.

    Thank you,
    Katie

  8. 10 Jen December 20, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    you look so pretty! i am also a slave to the sugar train right now but honestly loving it! i also try to balance it out with some super healthy eats. your soba/kale salad looks awesome.

  9. 11 Courtney (Pancakes and Postcards) December 20, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    mmmmmmmmmm cookies. i mean, yay for kale!

  10. 12 Katie December 21, 2011 at 11:10 am

    Thank you! Do you have a recipe for vegan corn bread?

  11. 14 The Waspy Redhead December 26, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    Thank you for sharing this recipe, I am feeling so gross from all the Christmas indulgences. I’ve never heard of liquid aminos, what should we substitute if we don’t have those – or do I just omit them? Thanks!

  12. 16 Izzi December 28, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    This looks delicious. I just discovered your site and you have tons of great recipes. I can’t wait to make some of them.


Leave a Reply

