Eggnog Cupcakes

This weekend wasn’t just about running, even though that consumed a lot of it. We also went to the oh-so-festive tree lot at the Target parking lot to get our Christmas tree!

There was a lengthy discussion about whether a Noble or a Douglas was better (my family always gets Nobles, but Mike’s always gets Douglas Firs). After walking back and forth between the two, we finally settled on this pretty Douglas.

We needed a Christmas-y treat to go with our new seasonal decor, and even though I don’t really like drinking eggnog, I love it in cupcakes!

The recipe I found was really good, but once it was mixed up, it definitely looked like it could use some more liquid, so I added an extra half cup of egg nog, and it worked beautifully. And like pretty much everything I make, the extras went to work with Mike, in our new cupcake carrier (something I should have purchased LONG ago!)

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:21]
(adapted from Naturally Ella)

12 Responses to “Eggnog Cupcakes”


  1. 1 Kate December 7, 2011 at 9:38 am

    I’m impressed your presents are all already wrapped. That was my goal for this week, but so far I’ve only got 2 done!

  2. 2 Julie @BananasForBourbon December 7, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    Heh, my Noble fir came courtesy of the lovely Home Depot lot. Not quite the Petamula tree farm experience of my youth, but they’re cheap! 😉 I like to change up the kind of tree. They smell different.

    I don’t know how I lived before I got my cupcake carrier either. I got mine from a giveaway because I was too silly to just buy one. I’ll never do that to myself again.

  3. 3 lori December 12, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    My daughter made these cupcakes – they are fantastic. I wanted to make some cake pops so I baked this as a cake – didn’t turn out so good. By the time the middle cooked the outsides were really over done.

    Any idea how long to bake this as a cake, what size pan I should have used and the oven temp?? I’m determined to keep trying til I get it right.

    THanks

    • 4 Cate December 13, 2011 at 6:01 am

      Lori – I would think a 9″ round pan would work, and I would check after about 18 minutes, with the oven temperature at 350. If that sounds like what you did, and it didn’t work out, I’m not sure what to try next. Good luck, and I hope you find a way to do it!

  4. 5 lori December 13, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    You’re right – I did bake this in a 9 ” round pan with oven temp at 350 – the outsides were completely cooked and middle not cooked at all.
    I think when I try it again I might use the Wilton heating strips and a flower nail in the middle as a heating core.

    Again, such a great recipe.

  5. 6 Kristen December 14, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    Great recipe! How did you make the frosting look so perfect? I am always having trouble making my frosting look professional?? Thanks!

  6. 8 Lauren December 17, 2011 at 10:39 am

    This recipe looks great! I’m planning on making them for my work holiday party. I’m just wondering if the 1 cup of eggnog was including the extra 1/2 cup you added?

  7. 10 Hannah December 26, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    I added cinnamon and vanilla extract into the frosting to make it less sweet. My friends who hate eggnog loved these, but agreed the less sweet frosting worked better.

  8. 11 Vanessa December 28, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    What tip did you use on yours???


Leave a Reply

