Chocolate Hazelnut Espresso Shortbread


I may have been all about healthy meals for the first few days after Thanksgiving, but now I’m in full on holiday treat mode. Good thing I’m balancing it with a bunch of yoga and running (and not being at home with plenty of hours to devote to baking really helps too).

Oh! Nuts sent me some nuts to bake with. I kind of forgot what a giant pain skinning hazelnuts is, but it’s definitely worth it. (I use the boil with baking soda method.)

Then I threw the hazelnuts and some milk chocolate chips into the food processor for a few pulses.

I adapted this from a recipe from Baking From My Home To Yours.I’m not sure why she recommends baking them for 18 minutes because that seemed WAY too long (I’d check them after about 10 minutes – if they start to darken they’ve baked too long). I cut out snowflake shapes and dusted them with powdered sugar to make them a little more festive.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:20]

2 Responses to “Chocolate Hazelnut Espresso Shortbread”


  1. 1 Kate December 7, 2011 at 9:36 am

    This may be the only “snow” I see this year.

  2. 2 Beth December 7, 2011 at 11:18 am

    Yum, yum, yum. Sorry for the redundancy there, but these look amazing! These are adorable, and I will be making them this weekend.


Leave a Reply

