Warm Potato-Celery Root Salad


The other day I bought a celery root at the farmer’s market (thanks to That Girl for the inspiration). I spent about 10 days trying to decide what to do with it, but none of the recipes in my cookbook collection really appealed to me. So, I turned to The Flavor Biblefor some ideas.

The book listed capers, mustard, and lemon as going well with celery root, so I used all three. Roasting is my favorite way to cook most vegetables, and it definitely worked out well here. Mike said he wished the potatoes were a little crisper, so a little extra time in the oven might be helpful.

I’m thinking the next new-to-me vegetable I’m going to try is kohlrabi. Any recipe suggestions?

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:18]

6 Responses to “Warm Potato-Celery Root Salad”


  1. 1 Kierstan @ Life {and running} in Iowa December 1, 2011 at 9:39 am

    I just had the most amazing celeriac soup in England! I have been on the look out since I’ve gotten home so I can make it myself. Very simple recipe too – saute an onion and celeriac, add veggie broth and blend. It was very creamy and quite delicious.

  2. 2 Emily Malone December 1, 2011 at 10:25 am

    YUM. Anything with capers is a win in my book!

  3. 3 Kate December 1, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    I’m boring with kohlrabi- I boil it then toss with butter and salt.

  4. 4 Moodles December 1, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    Try Jerusalem artichokes–yum!

  5. 5 Courtney @ The Granola Chronicles December 1, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    I’ve never tried celery root – I don’t think our CSA farm grows it. I’ll have to stop at the farmers’ market though. It’s on my list of veggies to try!

  6. 6 janet @ the taste space December 2, 2011 at 10:21 pm

    Hehe, I just bought a celery root, too, for the first time. I plan to mash it with white beans tomorrow. We’ll see how it goes!

    For kohlrabi, I adore it raw. Here are a few recipe suggestions: http://tastespace.wordpress.com/tag/kohlrabi/


Leave a Reply

