Peppermint Oreos

Wednesday night, we took Ellie on her first plane flight. I was afraid she’d scream the whole time, but she did great (I think Sophie the giraffe helped).

She was alert and happy the whole time we were waiting at the airport, and then fell asleep as we were taking off. I still need to work on my fear of flying, but at least she seems okay with it.

Thanksgiving started with a 4-mile Turkey Trot.
We’ve done this run three or four times before. Last year I ran 3 minutes faster than this year’s 34:10, but it was still a really fun run.

It finishes in the zoo, so we went and checked on the elephants.

On the way home we made a mandatory stop at Starbucks. I wish I got to hang out with my sister more.

Now that it’s socially acceptable to put up Christmas decorations, it’s time to start thinking about Christmas cookies! I made a double batch of homemade oreos, and added some peppermint extract and red food coloring to the filling. Even though I doubled the cookie recipe, I made a single recipe of frosting and had enough (maybe I don’t fill them enough?) The recipe below should make about 45 modestly-filled sandwiches.

Recipe:
[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:14]
(adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

6 Responses to “Peppermint Oreos”


  1. 1 Alyssa November 25, 2011 at 11:52 am

    My stomach growled looking at those cookies! I vote bringing them to the cookie party. πŸ™‚ I am glad to hear E did well on the flight — she is braver than I am, too! Hope you all had a great Thanskgiving. πŸ™‚

  2. 2 Alaina November 25, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    Oh my gosh, your daughter is so cute!! I hope you had a great holiday! πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Krysten November 26, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    Homemade oreos, what a grand idea! These look amazing…might have to try them this holiday season. Yum…oh and as always, Ellie is adorable. πŸ™‚

  4. 4 Kate November 27, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    I would so do any run that ends in a zoo!

  5. 5 natalie (the sweets life) November 29, 2011 at 11:37 am

    Ellie looks SO much like you! And she is just the cutest!!

    Also cute are these cookies! I have so many recipes I want to make that call for peppermint extract…must buy some!

  6. 6 ErinsFoodFiles November 29, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    Baby cuteness overload! And the cookies looks great too!


Leave a Reply

Twitter

  • Lovett or Leave It: my new favorite podcast. Waiting til the weekend is even harder now 6 days ago
  • I've apparently become a person who spends her weekend doing yard work 😬 1 week ago
  • Apparently when you buy a house your parents decide it's finally time to give you all your papers from high school 1 week ago

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

